Skip to content

Cry for Home – Flash Fiction

March 15, 2016

photo-20160314112836231

This week’s photo prompt is provided by pixabay.com

Cry for Home

I remember when we were just Privates sitting around mocking our Sergeants. “War’s hell!” we would shout with our chests puffed out. We thought everything was a joke. Then we came into contact with our first real battle. 8,000 miles from home. No clue who were friendlies and who were the enemy. Everything was foreign to us. There was no more time for jokes.

I sat outside my barracks one night having a smoke. I’d just lost another friend, Charlie Baker. A hometown boy. I felt a nudge at my side. As I turned around, there sat the cutest dog I’d seen in a long time. Reminded me of Charlie’s dog, Pete. I rubbed it’s head for a while. I’d never cried for home until then.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(125 words)


 

photo-20160229092603502

This fun fiction prompt is brought to you by Priceless Joy, Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers and friends. Come join us!

24 Comments
  1. Dogs are needed so that one can do such things!

  2. So sensitive and well written

  3. Your story reads with a powerful insight of what a soldier might feel. It is written with great sensitivity. I liked it very much.
    Isadora 😎

  4. Such a sweet sad story.

  5. Great portrayal of a soldier’s “coming of age” from rookie through first battle and on.

  6. Heartbreaking and beautiful

  7. mandibelle16 permalink

    Great soldier’s story. At least the dog allowed him to grieve for his lost friend and to perhaps, remind him of good times had with him. Very sad but well written.

  8. A lovely tribute to the importance that animals can have in our lives.

  9. Awww, that is heart touching. Animals touch our heart strings. Wonderful story! I loved how he was “hardened” throughout the story, until he met the dog.

  10. Dogs have been the best companions for soldiers since the start of war. I liked this story a lot.

  11. Poignant story and a real coming-of-age tale. Good stuff :0

  12. Thank you, my angel!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Article Read (3-15-2016) – My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Itinerant Historian and Would Be Cartoon Maker David Perlmutter

A popular culture scholar needing an audience...

ScheerPost

Your home for independent journalism.

Paranormal Hauntings

The Home For all Things Paranormal

Mandela Effect

Where it all started

Poetry & Stories

From soul to soul

HEALTH + INSPIRATION

Wellness • Poetry • Life

Penelope Burns

Write | Blog | Create | Earn

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

WORDSNOW HEART

It is all about words. Your words are enough to shatter someone's heart. Your words are enough to make a broken heart unbroken. Words have the power to change your life perspectives.

Smiling Coasts

Margaret McDaid

Creation Crazy

CRAZY CREATIVITY

(CALIATH)

An Empyrean Cycle

Touching Madness

"A genius with an idiot's mind" ME

Invest In Yourself First!!

Only We Can Change our Life, No one Else Do it For Us

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer