Skip to content

#SoCS Feb. 6/16: The Point – Poetry

February 6, 2016

for Stream of Consciousness Saturday – Prompt: “finger”

Warning: Rated R for foul language

socs-badge-2015


 

The Point

Don’t point your finger at me
like I am your property
a babe to reprimand
a child kept underhand

you think you’re so wise
with your understated compromise
telling me I’m no good
while you rip the neighborhood

dressed to kill
seeking out the latest thrill
fanning and fawning over men
broadcasting your sin

I want none of your hypocrisy
with your husband awash at sea
he gave you everything you own
it’s now time for you to atone

I may not be a saint
but here’s my biggest complaint
you threw yourself at me
begging me to believe

you’d give up all the rest
if I could pass your silly test
I can only be who you see
not who you want me to be

So what if your life’s a bore
and you are digging around for more
sorry to be so blunt
but you’re just a fucking cunt

©February 2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

11 Comments
  1. Love the rawness of it, Lori. 🙂

  2. Talk about a surprise ending! Now I know what finger she was pointing – powerful.

  3. Talk about a surprise ending! Now I know what finger she was pointing. Very powerful!

  4. Whew. So many levels. This was great.

  5. Haha, oh come on, tell us what you really think.

  6. I definitely feel your anger and frustration. Well said. Thank you so much for your kind words on my blog. I really appreciate it. I hope 2016 will be a great year for you.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Itinerant Historian and Would Be Cartoon Maker David Perlmutter

A popular culture scholar needing an audience...

ScheerPost

Your home for independent journalism.

Paranormal Hauntings

The Home For all Things Paranormal

Mandela Effect

Where it all started

Poetry & Stories

From soul to soul

HEALTH + INSPIRATION

Wellness • Poetry • Life

Penelope Burns

Write | Blog | Create | Earn

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

WORDSNOW HEART

It is all about words. Your words are enough to shatter someone's heart. Your words are enough to make a broken heart unbroken. Words have the power to change your life perspectives.

Smiling Coasts

Margaret McDaid

Creation Crazy

CRAZY CREATIVITY

(CALIATH)

An Empyrean Cycle

Touching Madness

"A genius with an idiot's mind" ME

Invest In Yourself First!!

Only We Can Change our Life, No one Else Do it For Us

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer