Skip to content

#SoCS Sept 10/16 – Views

September 10, 2016

for Stream of Consciousness Saturday – Prompt: View

socsbadge2016-17

Sometimes I feel like an alien stranded on a foreign planet (something not so far from the truth – but that’s for another time).  I look around at the people I come into contact with and wonder, “Who the hell are these people?”  Where did all of this hate come from? Is it part of their DNA? Why are they so afraid of “others” who aren’t just like them? Why is diversity so scary to them? Why is helping others less fortunate so undesirable? This “me first” culture sickens my soul.

I don’t know where it all went wrong. Perhaps it has never been here on this planet. Did I dream it into existence as a child? A culture of giving and aiding, with no expectations. Perhaps my views are just too radical when they should be the norm. I know that like many, I was taught to “love thy neighbor” but that didn’t mean unless they are the same as you – or did it mean that all along? I don’t understand how a world that is so heavily religious can be so incredibly selfish.  Fear seems to drive even the most devout, and trust isn’t even on the radar.

I envision a world where everyone helps everyone else. Where if you have more than your neighbor, you share what you have.  Where an open society celebrates its differences as well as its samenesses. A world where people don’t have to barricade themselves behind walls to keep others out.  Where education , healthcare, and housing is free. Where everyone works to better their world and themselves. And those who cannot work aren’t locked away and forgotten, but given aid and comfort. Is this an impossible society? Unfortunately in a “me first” world, it is.

And so, I go on looking at this world through foreign eyes, longing  and wondering – am I the only one?

From → SoCS, Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Bee Halton permalink

    Amen!!!!!!!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Itinerant Historian and Would Be Cartoon Maker David Perlmutter

A popular culture scholar needing an audience...

ScheerPost

Your home for independent journalism.

Paranormal Hauntings

The Home For all Things Paranormal

Mandela Effect

Where it all started

Poetry & Stories

From soul to soul

HEALTH + INSPIRATION

Wellness • Poetry • Life

Penelope Burns

Write | Blog | Create | Earn

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

WORDSNOW HEART

It is all about words. Your words are enough to shatter someone's heart. Your words are enough to make a broken heart unbroken. Words have the power to change your life perspectives.

Smiling Coasts

Margaret McDaid

Creation Crazy

CRAZY CREATIVITY

(CALIATH)

An Empyrean Cycle

Touching Madness

"A genius with an idiot's mind" ME

Invest In Yourself First!!

Only We Can Change our Life, No one Else Do it For Us

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer