Skip to content

“The Dancer” Haibun

February 29, 2016

ronovan-writes-haiku-poertry-challenge-image-20161

for RonovanWrite’s Weekly Haiku Challenge

Swan-Sunrise-Lake-District

credit: Lake District landscape photography by Alex Wrigley at Rydal Water

“The Dancer” Haibun

I was sixteen when Flashdance hit the silver screen. I was spellbound by the beautiful dancing, the soaring ballet moves across the dance floor, the bobbing and weaving as she glided along. I imagined myself a dancer dipping and diving upon the stage. But these gangling legs didn’t move that way. I felt the beat of the music vibrating through my body, held the passion to dance firmly in my creative mind, but my hips were too wide, my thighs too plump, my feet unaccustomed to the challenge. I could merely watch, in awe.

in a flash, she danced
elegant, silver wings dip
onto the swan’s lake

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

12 Comments
  1. I love the film too. Nice work.💚💜💛❤️💙

  2. Such a lovely way to connect your personal experience with the ‘swan dancer.’ Enjoyed your haibun, Lori.

  3. Beautifully done 🙂

  4. Wow, I remember that movie well. A beautiful
    haibun.

  5. Suzanne permalink

    She was quite a dancer -your haiku captures it well. I can relate to the problem with the thighs 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

