Skip to content

That Which Motivates Me

January 14, 2016

for JusJoJan – Prompt: Motivation

People often ask me what motivates me when I am writing. My standard answer is usually Catharine, my muse, but truthfully, it is music. I usually say Catharine because she embodies everything that I do when it comes to writing. You see, I write via inspiration and of course, Catharine is my greatest source of inspiration. She inspires the music I listen to, the prompts and ideas I respond to and motivates me to write. In fact, she can be a downright pest about it. I have frequent 3 am visits from her that wake me up to write. She follows me to the bathroom filling my head with words and phrases. She interrupts movies or tv shows to drop lines into my mind. She is very persistent.

But it really is the music. I cannot write unless I have music playing in my ears. It used to drive my parents crazy that I had music on while doing my homework. I frequently heard “how can you concentrate with that noise?” It isn’t noise to me though. The music itself fades into the background and I am able to concentrate. Silence is okay while reading, but if I have to write something, I need music. And not just any kind of music. It has to be rock, alternative, or even heavy metal.

Here is a sample of my typical playlist:

Linkin Park
Type O Negative
Disturbed
Metallica
Evanescence
Eminem
3 Doors Down
Apocalyptica
Avenged Sevenfold
Five Finger Death Punch
HIM
Nine Inch Nails
Nirvana
Pink Floyd
Seether
Slipknot
Staind
System of a Down

These groups stay on my Youtube playlist, but I am always looking for more to motivate me. You can probably tell by the groups listed that I like dark music. And it’s true. Dark music speaks to my dark soul.

If you’d like to contribute to my playlist, leave a group’s name below and I will review their music and give them a shot. I am currently building my playlist for February’s Horror Tales and would love some new music to listen to while I write those dark, twisted tales.

Today’s motivation has been brought to you via Linkin Park!


 

If you’d like to join in with the JusJoJan, see the rules here

jjj-2016

9 Comments
  1. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  2. I actually saw HIM live in NY. 😀 I love your playlist! Can you post a link to it?
    Much of the Japanese music I listen to is dark and Goth, but if you like listening to the lyrics it won’t work for you I suppose. Here’s a link just in case https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6165cij6qps – I don’t want to add more than one link or this comment will go directly to spam. 😛 To find translations for everything Buck-Tick does, go to notgreatestsite dot net. The linked song is called Doukeshi A. This particular concert (and the album) I’ve linked to is heavily influenced by the Russian ballet, Petrushka.

    • Oh how I envy you for seeing HIM in concert… what year was it? As for my playlist, I am reworking it at the moment… I got some many great suggestions over the past day or so that I have been adding and deleting songs from it… I will post a link here when I am done… if I remember. Thanks for the suggestions above 🙂

      • I think I saw HIM in 2004. It was SRO at the Irving Theatre. I got crushed and dragged over the front gate. Spent the rest of the concert at the side, chatting with a security guard who took a liking to me and told me where to find the band on their way out after the show. I was standing beside the stage door when they came out – my friend stopped Ville Valo to speak to him. I stood there right beside him, admiring his shoes…
        I’ll keep an eye out for your playlist. 😀

      • Oh wow… back in 2004 he was still so damn adorable. I couldn’t even imagine being that close to him. He’s really starting to age now and doesn’t look as cute in his gothic make-up. He looks haggard a lot now. I guess that happens to all of our icons though with age. Well, except Prince.. I don’t know how he does it, but he still looks so young.

  3. Within Temptation especially their Unforgiving album. (It’s vampiry)

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Itinerant Historian and Would Be Cartoon Maker David Perlmutter

A popular culture scholar needing an audience...

ScheerPost

Your home for independent journalism.

Paranormal Hauntings

The Home For all Things Paranormal

Mandela Effect

Where it all started

Poetry & Stories

From soul to soul

HEALTH + INSPIRATION

Wellness • Poetry • Life

Penelope Burns

Write | Blog | Create | Earn

My Serene Words

seeking solace in the horizon of life and beyond

WORDSNOW HEART

It is all about words. Your words are enough to shatter someone's heart. Your words are enough to make a broken heart unbroken. Words have the power to change your life perspectives.

Smiling Coasts

Margaret McDaid

Creation Crazy

CRAZY CREATIVITY

(CALIATH)

An Empyrean Cycle

Touching Madness

"A genius with an idiot's mind" ME

Invest In Yourself First!!

Only We Can Change our Life, No one Else Do it For Us

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer