Skip to content

JusJoJan Day One — On Reading

January 2, 2015

JusJoJan2015

The first 10 days are about reading…

For me, reading has always been my escape. I was picked on and taunted a lot as a child, the victim of bullying and have always been an introvert. Reading allowed me to forget about those things, to traverse the worlds of others’ makings. I remember one year as a teenager, I read the entire young adult fiction section of my small local library and begged my parents to allow me to check out books in the adult fiction sections. This was granted and I began reading those as well. By the end of that year, I had worked my way through about a third of the adult fiction section too.

Back in those days, I was addicted to Gothic novels from the 60s and 70s, novels that included suspense and intrigue. Marilyn Ross was my favorite writer at the time and I would later learn that she wasn’t a she after all, but a he, William Ross who wrote under his wife’s name as well as under the name W.E.D. Ross, his actual name. He was a prolific writer in those days, writing eroticism, westerns and those Gothic novels I was so fond of. He even wrote a series of books under the Dark Shadows logo. Just recently, I discovered that he had 27 pen names, as well as his own. He definitely worked hard to keep his work in print.

I came home from school one day when I was around 14 or so and discovered that my mother had gotten rid of all of my books. I didn’t have a huge collection, just 3 or 4 boxes worth at the time, but most of the books were those Gothics and it really tore me up. In my mid-30s, I went on eBay and found a lot of those books again. It was as though I turned back into that 14 year old and I had to have every one I could get my hands on. I ended up collecting around a thousand of them. Unfortunately when I made this recent move from Oklahoma back to Virginia, I had to leave my collection behind. Perhaps I’ve finally outgrown them. Maybe.

Now a days, I read mostly science fiction, some classics and books of poetry. I have one book by William Goyen, entitled The House of Breath that I have probably read at least ten times from cover to cover. The book looks like it’s been through hell, but then it IS my favorite book. I am a huge fan of Orson Scott Card of the Ender’s Game series. I have some of his other works too and still collect everything he’s written. He is the only author in which I own every book he’s put out, even his books based in Mormonism. I have all of Anne Sexton’s poetry books, as well and have read them, studied them and emulated her style somewhat into my own poetry. She gave me the courage to dig deep and expose the bones.

I read some really interesting books in 2014… On the Road by Jack Kerouac, Dry by Augusten Burroughs, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip k. Dick, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, The Stone Man by Luke Smitherd, Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho, and a bizarre book named Rushed by Brian Harmon… yes, I broke down and bought a Kindle and opened myself up to the electronic age of reading. I still buy genuine paper books though. I doubt I will ever outgrown that.

I am currently reading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. So far it is very enjoyable. More books lined up for this year include Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, The Count of Monte Cristo, Beach Rental, A Cold and Broken Hallelujah, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Slaughter House Five, and I will probably throw in some more good old fashioned Science Fiction into the mix. Probably some Orson Scott Card later in the year.

Reading… it’s just what I do.

From → Journaling, Prompts

4 Comments
  1. Very cool. πŸ™‚ It’s wonderful when you find a writer you connect with so well that you have to read everything they’ve written, isn’t it? I’ll have to look for your favourite book! Ten times! It must be good.
    Thanks so much for participating in JusJoJan!

    • Thank you, Linda.. I do so hope you find The House of Breath.. it is very stream of conscious writing… it was introduced to me in college and yes, over the years, I’ve probably read it ten times, some sections more than that. I had some difficult times the past 9 yrs and that book saw me through some of the worse of those times. Thank you for JusJoJan.. I am so excited about it!

      • Even more reason to look for it! Thanks for the recommendation, Lori. πŸ˜€
        And you’re welcome – I hope you gain some views and followers from JusJoJan. πŸ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on Burning the Root and commented:

    My thoughts on Reading…

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!β„’

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

