Skip to content

#SoCS Nov. 19/16 – Yesterday’s Woes

November 19, 2016

for Stream of Consciousness Saturday – Prompt: ‘yes’

socsbadge2016-17

Yesterday, I spent four hours at the ER because my PCP couldn’t schedule me in for an appointment until later next week. I’d called on Tuesday and by Friday, I just couldn’t take it anymore – the coughing, wheezing and pain in my chest. I sat there as calmly as I could reading my Kindle, but I knew my coughing fits were disturbing the other patients. I went up to the desk and told the receptionist that I was going outside. She assured me that someone would come get me when it was my turn for treatment. There’s no smoking on hospital grounds though, she told me. She probably thought that’s what I was going out for, a smoke – didn’t she hear my severe cough? How could anyone smoke through that? I just rolled my eyes and went outside. Thankfully, it was warm and I found a small bench and sat down.

I’d already been at the hospital for an hour when I went outside. I coughed my way through a whole novella in the next two hours. Finally, I went back inside to see what the hold up was. They thought I’d left. Apparently the receptionist had gone home for the day without telling anyone I was waiting outside. I had to wait another hour. By the time I finally got in to see the on-duty doctor, I was exhausted. I just wanted to get back home to my bed. He listened to my chest, diagnosed bronchitis and scribbled out a ‘script for antibiotics. It took all of five minutes.

Dad drove me to the pharmacy on our way home. Inside, I stood in line for a good thirty minutes waiting for my ‘script. I wasn’t taking any chances that I wouldn’t hear them if they called out my name, so I didn’t roam around. Who can understand them on those intercoms anyway? Garbly-gook. I paid for the ‘script and we set off for the house, only to be held up downtown for a funeral. A well-know had passed away and the procession lasted for an eternity, or so it felt.

We finally got home and I grabbed some ice, a bottle of Gatorade and headed to my room. I took the antibiotic and a sleeping pill, wrote out the review for the book I’d just read and finally crawled into bed. Some time after a major coughing fit, sweet sleep overcame me. Yes!

From → SoCS, Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Oh no! I hope you’re feeling better by now. Bronchitis really sucks!

  2. Hope you feel better soon. Continuous coughing is not fun. Hope the medicine works soon so that you can get some rest.

  3. Sorry you are sick….much love to you!

  4. Sorry to hear of your long waiting time, and then they forgot to come out to get you. Hope the antibiotics work for you. They didn’t say what it was I had, but probably the same. The meds I took helped so much. Feel better soon, Lori! (hugs) xo

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

