Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 138

May 17, 2016

Feed your senses

Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you
experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most
drawn to, and write. (For a bigger challenge, pick the one
you’re least drawn to.)

  • sight – darkness with a slight rosy tinge from my salt lamp
  • sound – dad creeping about so as not to awaken me, the hum of my white noise machine
  • smell – coffee brewing (which did awaken me)
  • sensation – ache in right shoulder and right hip

Lately, I’ve been up at night and sleeping during the early morning to midday. I have heavy black curtains that separate my room from the hall that leads from the back part of the house to the front door. There is no doorway, just a LONG hallway. So there are four long, thick curtains up to partition the two separate spaces. This blocks out any light that may come in from the window and front door. Inside my space, are two other windows. One facing the front of the house and one at the side of the house. The front window has a dark blue shade that I keep pulled down when I am sleeping. The other window has a thick comforter pinned around it because that is where the a/c goes in the summer and the screen and storm  window are out of it. Cold air was coming in during the winter  and so I put up that comforter. All of this creates a wonderful darkness which allows me to sleep anytime, day or night. But since I cannot sleep in total darkness (long story short, I lived with someone who had a roach infestation and I had to sleep with my light on to keep them off of me at night, now cannot sleep in total darkness), I have my salt lamp turned on which creates a lovely rosy glow. It is also just enough light to see if I need to get up to go to the bathroom or get a drink of water.

My dad is very light on his feet. He does his best to be quiet if he comes through to check the mail. Unfortunately, I always hear him. I am a very light sleeper (unless I take something to knock myself out), but I can also ‘sense’ movement and hear the slightest noise. My white noise machine stays on. It sounds like the hum of a small fan, but it blocks out some of the noise from outside as well as deadens the noise from the tv in the kitchen. Since it is a nice background sound, I generally don’t pay much attention to it being on, but I cannot concentrate (or sleep) without it.

If you really want to wake me up fast, just do two things – brew coffee or fry bacon. I can sleep through most all other smells, but not those two. They both perk me up. My dad usually starts coffee as soon as he gets up, which could be any time between 8 am to noon. We have no set times in this house. My brother is famous for frying bacon at odd times of the day or night. When there is bacon in the house, I can expect to be awakened whenever. He loves bacon more than Dad or I do. We prefer sausage.

I’ve been having severe aches in my right shoulder that comes down to my elbow and wrist. And my right hip aches a lot because I prefer to sleep on my left side and it puts stress on my right lower back and hip. The pains in both areas will lessen if I roll over onto my right side, but then I cannot sleep. So it is just one huge bloody pain in the arse. I know the pains increased because I went on a Pepsi Max binge for a couple of months. I was drinking up to 72 cans per month for 2 months and very little water. For some, that may not sound like all that many cans for a month, for others, it may be shocking. My body has a love-hate relationship with diet sodas. I love the taste and with the Pepsi Max, it gives me a lot of energy – probably because of the ginseng they put in it. However, if I drink too many, the aspartame in it causes two things – numbness and body aches. The numbness comes first and is usually enough to make me stop drinking them after about 5 or 6 cans. However, if I ignore the numbness (which I did the past couple of months), then body aches hit me. Those are definitely enough to get me off the Pepsi Max.

How about you, dear readers? Want to share your morning senses with me? I’d love to hear them! Share your thoughts with me in comments.

Leave a Comment

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

