Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 130

May 9, 2016

Landscape

When you gaze out your window — real or figurative — do
you see the forest first, or the trees?

I am a detail-oriented person and I am near-sighted, so I always see what’s right in front of me first. That’s not to say that I don’t always see the bigger picture (the forest) because I do. It just sometimes takes me a bit longer because I get fascinated with what’s in front of me (the trees). Sometimes I am delighted by what I see and other times I am horrified. What I find fascinating is when I sit down on the front stoop and look at the ground, I immediately begin seeing the microcosmic world going on there. All of those tiny insects running about doing their thing. Then I will span out and see the grass and flowers and the trees. It’s those little things that really excite me though. And I can see the negative spaces between things really well, like looking through a screen and seeing shapes morph before my eyes. It reminds me of the way you have to shift your eyesight to see those 3D visual pictures.

Having this ability to see the small details also gives me a unique perspective on life too. I can usually see how small, seemingly insignificant events will balloon into something major down the road. Not always, but definitely often enough for me to know it isn’t merely a coincidence (not that I believe in that anyway). I used to do research for this group who wrote articles on alternative world events. I would search through mainstream media and pick out things that seemed ordinary on the surface, but had far reaching consequences. It was very much like watching the flapping of butterfly wings and seeing the ripple effects. I stopped the research and quit the group after 9/11 when I saw that the information I had gathered over the past couple of years prior to that event left me questioning my own government’s role in that whole horrific disaster. I no longer wanted to see the the trees or the forest. Unfortunately, I couldn’t undo what I’d read and knew. I also knew that the information wouldn’t change the train wreck I knew was headed our way as a country.

These days, I focus mainly on the small things that surround me – my friends and family, my writing, and my own troubled mind. I try not to concern myself with the world OUT THERE unless it directly affects me. It’s not a position that I am proud of. I would rather be doing more to bring information to the masses, but my own sanity prevents it.

How about you, dear readers? Do you see the forest or the trees? How do you feel about that perspective? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

 

5 Comments
  1. Foreknowledge can be a burden. I guess for me it’s about perspective and that it is one of several possible outcomes. It’s not one of my skills – other than if it is information I need to be given for a specific purpose.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

