Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 129

May 8, 2016

Success

Tell us about a time where everything you’d hoped would
happen actually did.

This has only happened once in my life, so it is easy for me to remember. From the Fall of 1991 until the end of Spring 1999, I reached my crowning glory. I went to and completed college.I earned an AAS in General Studies, a BA in English and a Masters in Arts and Liberal Sciences (MALS). I even earned a Certificate of Advanced Studies (CAS), but never got the diploma for that. Long story for another day perhaps.

Everyone said it couldn’t be done, at least not for me. I’d never taken SATs or any other standardized tests. When everyone in HS was taking them, I didn’t think I stood a chance in hell of going to college (I had passable grades, but no funding for college) and at that time, the testing wasn’t mandatory (are they now for all students? I don’t know). Only those who were trying to get into a four year college had to take them. The local community college didn’t require SATs and I always figured if I went to college at all, that’s where I would end up. And I did. I took a year and a half of Business Management courses and dropped out.

From 1986 though 1990, I bummed around working odd jobs, got married and divorced and pretty much watched my dreams die. Then in late 1990, I decided to go back to school. I moved back to my small hometown, got a job and applied at the local community college again. I graduate from there in the Spring of 1993. Then I did another impossible – I got into a private women’s college in Roanoke VA, where I spent the next 6 years – 2 on my BA, 2 on my MALS and 2 on my CAS.

It was a huge feat for me. I felt like I was on top of the world and I had so many plans. I thought about getting a PhD in English, maybe teaching, or writing that great American novel, or maybe even becoming an editor for a literary magazine. None of that happened and none of it will ever happen, except maybe the novel some day. The reasons why will be saved for another day.

How about you, dear readers? Share with me a time when everything you hoped for came true.

5 Comments
  1. Originally, I hadn’t set out to have any writings of mine published, but I had a poem and short story published in a college magazine. From there, I declared my major when I transferred to a four-year college. It took another three years, but I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in English with a Creative Writing concentration. So now, my next goal is to get another story published, whether it be a short story or novel. It’s taking longer than I thought it would, but it’s expected.

    • It definitely takes persistence, something I just no longer have these days. I’d just rather be writing. I wish you luck in your publishing endeavors, GR.. You can do it!

  2. Even though not all your plans came to be you still accomplished a lot so congratulations for that! I completed my plans/goals only to realize it is not truly what I want. Still trying to figure that one out.

    • Thank you, Serena… I hope you can get it all figured out hun.. it sucks to work on something and complete it only to realize it wasn’t what you wanted to do to begin with

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

