Skip to content

Moving On – Flash Fiction

May 6, 2016

Moving On

“Come on, ladies and gents! Pump it!” Jasmine yelled at the spinners in her gym class. “One more mile and we’ll call it a day!”

When the one-mile marker crossed her screen, Jasmine turned off the machine. She inhaled deeply and then exhaled slowly. It had been another exhilarating session. She stepped off of the bike and grabbed a towel. The others gathered around her, all chatting away in their loud, chipper voices before wandering down to the showers.

“We are having a party later tonight over at La Mansion. You want to join us?” Kimberly asked Jasmine as they dressed in the locker room.

Jasmine cocked her head to one side. She had a paper due soon in Biology. Could she put it off one more night? After mere seconds of deliberation, she nodded her head. “I’d love to!”

“Great! See you there at six.”

Jasmine locked up the gym and headed toward campus. Just as she reached the science building, her phone rang. She glanced at the number and frowned. She’d forgotten about the trip home.

“Hey sis, what’s up?”

“Just wanted to make sure you got Mom’s gift for Mother’s Day. You are still coming, right?”

“Yeah, I got the gift. My flight leaves at noon tomorrow.”

“It will be good to see you again, Jasmine. Gotta go!”

“You too, sis. See you tomorrow.”

Jasmine slid her cellphone into her hip pocket and hurried to Chem class. She was already running late. By the time she slipped in and took a seat, the professor was erasing the first section of the lecture.

Oh great, she thought, now I will have to get someone else’s notes again.

The rest of the day went much the same. She hurried to classes, scampered for a meal, rushed back and forth between chatting with friends and completing her labs. By the time she returned to her apartment later that afternoon, Jasmine was exhausted. She glanced at her desk piled high with papers, reports, and books she still needed to read for classes. She shrugged off the responsibility and took a shower. It was time to party.

Jasmine arrived at La Mansion thirty minutes late. She’d fretted over her outfit and make-up, and finally settled on a pair of black skinny jeans and a pink top. She joined Kimberly at the bar for drinks, and then the two moved to a larger crowd sitting at a round table. They stuck Jasmine halfway around the circled bench. She was surrounded on both sides by the loud maddening crowd. Jasmine was completely in her element. She loved the attention.

Hours passed as the group drank, danced, and laughed. Jasmine stumbled home in the wee hours of the morning. Crashed on her bed and slept. By the time she woke up the next day, it was already half-past noon. She’d missed her flight.

“Hey sis,” Jasmine said into the phone. “I overslept and missed my flight. I can catch a later one.”

There was a long silence into the phone. Finally, her sister responded. “Honestly, Jasmine. I don’t know why I even invite you to these things. You either don’t show up or you are late. Just forget it!” The line went dead.

Jasmine shrugged her shoulders. Her mom had been in a coma for over a year now. She wouldn’t even know Jasmine was there. She didn’t know why her sister kept up the pretense. Their dad left when they were young. Now their mom barely existed. She didn’t know why Carrie didn’t just move on with her life. Jasmine grabbed her gym bag and headed out the door. She needed to spin.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(611 Words)


Each day in May, I will be participating in the StoryADay in May. Here is today’s prompt:

Via Julie – Write a story about a character as unlike you as you can manage

Jasmine is obviously an extrovert, athletic, irresponsible and unreliable, plus she’s moved on with her life from the tragedies of her family. All of these things are completely unlike me.

 

15 Comments
  1. That ending… my heart breaks. I just think, my mom is such a shell of who she once was… I can’t imagine the anger I would feel if my sister did that to me. Great story though, you know it was great because I can feel it, my heart hurts right now.

    • Thanks, Serena… yeah, I needed to completely separate myself from that character to write it.. was a hard exercise!

      • I’m sure! But character’s should have flaws because real people have flaws! And you did an excellent job making a very believable character.

      • Thank you! You are good for my esteem 😀

  2. I liked your story!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

