Skip to content

Memory Island – flash fiction

May 4, 2016

for Writespiration #88 It’s a Dolls Life

Memory Island

“I see you’ve found another one.”

I nod at the old woman sitting on her porch smoking a pipe. I don’t linger to chat. I have to get on with my job. It’s an important one, but most people say it’s creepy. I don’t care though.

I trudge on through the mud. Reach the small island in the center of the swamp. A solitary tree stands to one side. I tie the limp figure on a low branch. Light a candle. Say a prayer.

The Government keeps promising us a vaccine, but it’s been ten years now since the plight. Keep trying, they say. Maybe the virus will work its way out of the gene pool. Forget about what’s lost. I refuse to forget.

I walk down the alley back toward my home. A window opens. An object falls to the ground. I bend down and pick it up. A discarded doll. Another child has died.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(156 words)

15 Comments
  1. This was a great twist on the prompt. Very sad. Something you could continue with?

  2. What a sad ending, but a brilliant take on the prompt 🙂

  3. Great ending. Very creepy flash. 🙂

  4. Sad. A lot of story and emotion is very few lines. Great stuff 🙂

  5. Ohh so much emotion. So vivid. Beautiful. I would love to see this carried on. I love a dystopian setting. Thank you for playing.

  6. Oh how sad… Imagery was vibrant… Thanks for dropping by my blog…

  7. Super creepy 😦

  8. Well written flash fiction! The ending was creepy but in a good way. Wonder what happens next…?

  9. How creepy. Work its way out of the the gene pool?
    Cool flash!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Flash in a Flash – #Writespiration 89 | Sacha Black

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

