Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 125

May 4, 2016

It’s a text, text, text world

How do you communicate differently online than in person,
if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a
purely written medium?

I guess you could say I am more chatty online than in person. The written medium is my preferred form of communication. I think better when I am writing and I can articulate what I want to get across to others easier too (except during Mercury Retrograde!). You’d get a much longer conversation from me online than in person. Generally, I am a quiet person and don’t have much to say. It is all of that inner dialogue going on inside my head all of the time. With that much chatter inside, it doesn’t leave much time for external chatter.

Hmmm, communicating emotion and intent? I tend to do things like *laughs* or *grins* or the occasional *doesahappydance* when I want to convey emotions. Not sure about the intent. I just write how I would normally speak. People generally draw their own conclusions anyway whether it is verbal or written communication.

How about you, dear readers? Do you communicate differently online than in person? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

3 Comments
  1. same. agree. sounds like me. i tend to say too much in my writing, cringing afterward, wondering what in the world did i just share. Scary!!!!! (Hopefully no one figures out who i am writing about.) And then the occasional poem that reflects thoughts about the world around me and the hopes they rub off and change my course in life. Great thoughts…. J

  2. I have a telephone voice that I used to use for work, a mother voice, a nana voice, the instructive manual voice, and then there’s the ‘me’ voice, which I’m told is too quiet. 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

