Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 124

May 3, 2016

The little things

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that
defines your world but is often overlooked.

One of the things that I love most is silence. I don’t think people understand how important it is to me or how it defines me. And when I say silence, I mean external silence. I am highly sensitive to noise and the only external noise that does not bother me is the sound of a fan. That actually just becomes white noise that blends in with my surroundings. I can tolerate other noise – hums of cars going by on the road, birds singing, and even dogs barking, so long as they are large dogs and not little yappy dogs. All other noise disturbs me and some even causes me to become irritable.

So why do I love external silence so much? Because there is constant noise going on inside my head. If it isn’t the constant buzzing of my own inner voice, then it is other voices. I attribute these to my muses, my animus, spirit guides and others. About 55-60% of the time, my head is filled with inner noise. The only time it is not is when I have headphones on watching a movie or listening to music, but the headphones have to be on. If I am watching a movie or listening to music without the headphones on, they become background noise and the voices take over. Some would probably say that I am schizophrenic and maybe that is true. It has not been one of my mental illness diagnoses though. Only psychosis with extreme depression has been diagnosed for me, and that is when I hear dark voices.

This is why I prefer to be up at night and why I write better at night. I can hear my muses and animus without all of the external noise going on. Once everyone else wakes up and tvs get turned on and a lot of traffic outside starts up, I’d just as soon be in bed with earplugs in and sleeping.

How about you, dear readers? What little thing do you love that is often overlooked? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

9 Comments
  1. Deb permalink

    I would go for silence too. I often wonder if it’s a writers thing. I mainly go for external silence because on the inside am often all chaos.

  2. Not everyone who hears voices has schizophrenia 🙂 Silence is so healing and soothing. Many people find it difficult and fill their lives with noise.That leaves no room for the soul to sing.

    • Ah, that’s good to know (about schizophrenia).. And I couldn’t agree more, Raili.. I definitely need that room for my soul to sing 🙂 Thanks hun!

  3. I am nodding with everything you have written. My husband asked me what I wanted for Mother’s Day. In Australia, Mother’s Day is on this Sunday. I said I want to sit in a room on my own and have no distractions and no one talking to me, in silence. He totally got it. Which means so much more to me than a bunch of flowers.

  4. I go for silence, too. I don’t have voices present, but I do have tinnitus. It’s normally at a level that I can tolerate, even ignore, until I think about it. Like now. Now it’s loud!
    Time for lunch and the excitement of two yappy dogs (Jack Russel ‘Trevor’ and Pyrennean Shepherd X ‘Eos’, rhymes with chaos).

    • Ouch! Not sure I could tolerate that.. I get a frequency changing sound now and again in my ears. Hope you enjoyed your time with Trevor and Eos 🙂

      • We always have a good time, Lori. It’s just the three of us for a week or so, as Clare is back in UK visiting family.

        As for the tinnitus, compared with many, it’s mild. I think it’s only since the first operation on one of my ears for skin cancer back in 2008. Doesn’t bother me much, certainly not debilitating.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

