Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 117

April 26, 2016

Second time around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without
getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

I only have a few books that I will read over and over again. I generally try to read these once a year.

The House of Breath by William Goyen – there is so much beauty and despair in this book and Goyen’s writing style is poetic and stream of consciousness, which appeals to my soul on a deep, profound level

Ender’s Game (and related books in the series) by Orson Scott Card – when it comes to world creating and science fiction for the every-man, Card is a master at it. The entire Ender’s Game series is filled with amazing characters and settings. I even try to read the Memory of Earth series every couple of years.

All of J. R. R. Tolkien’s books are on my constant reading list. Although, I generally only get to read them once every couple of years because when I begin to read them, I don’t just read the words, but I also study Tolkien’s style of world building and suspenseful writing.

The Death Notebooks and Love Poems by Anne Sexton – both of these books of poetry have been a huge inspiration to me. My copies of these are well-read and beginning to be well-worn. Her confessional style of writing has greatly influenced my own.

On Writing by Stephen King – he is the master at horror story-telling, but he also has great advice on writing in general. My copy is marked, tabbed, creased and sits on my desk at all times.

I have other books that stay on rotation on my reading list, but those above never leave the pile. A few of Neil Gaiman and Elizabeth Gilbert’s books are making their way into my constant reading list. I have spiritual books from Thich Nhat Hahn, Dr. Wayne Dyer, Pema Chodron, and The Dalai Lama who remain on the the rotation list. And I am constantly seeking out new books of poetry or short story collections to add.

How about you, dear readers? What book(s) can you read over and over again? Share your reasons why with me in comments.

7 Comments
  1. To Kill a Mockingbird / Sailing to Byzantium / The Dancers at the End of Time / Norwegian Wood.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

