Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 114

April 23, 2016

Earworm

What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation
in your CD or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to
you?

I am sure this will come as no surprise to my readers, but it has been Prince all day, all night here for two days now. If I am not listening and watching him on Bet Jams (who were gracious enough to play his videos non-stop from midday on the 21st through yesterday), then I am listening to him on my CD drive or on my ipod as I sleep. I still cannot listen to the Purple Rain album or watch the movie. It would tear me asunder to do so. But I have all of his studio albums on CD and have listened to all but about 4 of them. The song that sticks in my mind the most is Adore from Sign of the Times. It was one of his most gorgeous love ballads. I saw the Black Sweat video yesterday on Bet Jams and was able to laugh for the first time since hearing of his passing. He was so adorable and playful in that video.

How about you, dear readers? What song is stuck in your head these days? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

10 Comments
  1. “As Doves Cry” makes up most of my internal soundtrack these days. I was blown away on Saturday when I heard the guest band on another Minnesota great’s radio program, Garrison Keillor’s Prairie Home Companion, play a medley starting with “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” (I know, I know, Prince didn’t write it, but there is an incredible video of him playing it at the 2004 Hall of Fame Inductions) that moved then to “Purple Rain.” It brought the biggest smile to my face; it was a wonderful reminder of just how broad Prince’s influence is.

    • That’s beautiful, Sandra 🙂 I bet it was a great program.. I would have loved to have heard it. Thank you 🙂

  2. I’ve had Delta Dawn popping in and out for days – until I finally investigated why! ‘Twas a message about ‘mansions in the sky’ 🙂

    • Oh wow, Raili! That must have been such an inspiration for you! Beautiful 🙂

      • Still in my head – woke up to it last night. Obviously need to dig around a bit more!

      • Yep, sounds like it 🙂

      • Just off subject, probably a really stoopid question : pingbacks are back so WP has fixed the problem. What I am now wondering is what do I do about them – when they pop up in my Reader. Do they need to be approved for the link to work? Do I ignore them and leave them alone ? Or do I trash them? Thanks Lori, Font of Wisdom on things to do with blogging 🙂

      • If they are in need of approval, yeah, you will have to approve them to get them to work. If not, they should just show up on their own. Just leave them. If you trash them, they will disappear off of your posts.

      • Thanks Lori. I thought that might be the case.

      • Welcome, Raili 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Write Orange Daily

script written through a tangerine dream

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

