Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 111

April 20, 2016

The bizarro world

In the DC comics universe, a planet called “Htrae” (“Earth”
spelled backwards) is populated with bizarre versions of
superheroes. A Seinfeld episode made the idea of this
Bizarro World popular, where the characters encountered
their opposite selves. Craft a scene in which you meet an
opposite version of yourself — or a story in a bizarre, backwards
world.

One Bizarre Day

I should have noticed it right away. When I woke up this morning, my clock was ticking backwards. I chucked it up to needing a new one and threw it away. And then when I stepped into my shower, instead of the water pouring down upon me, it flowed upward. That was quite a shock! Still, I just figured there was something wrong with the pipes and went on about my day.

Outside, cars ran up buildings, not across roads. Planes flew upside down and for that matter, so did the birds. It was proving to be an exhausting day. I finally figured out how to get to my job, but the elevators ran down instead of up and I almost missed my floor. Inside my office was the strangest thing. People walked upside down while I crouched by the door. How could I even get to my desk as it hung from the ceiling? Finally, I closed my eyes. I couldn’t handle any more of this bizarre world.

Next thing I knew, I woke up. There on my bedside table was the alarm clock, ticking normally again. Had it all been a dream?

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

 

6 Comments
  1. Relegate it to a crazy dream, I say !

  2. Hmm, maybe a dream, maybe a temporary dimensional shift. Yeeks, craziness has ensued! Nice story 🙂

  3. You mean this world’s not bizarre enough?

    Keith Channing A-Zing from http://keithkreates.com

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

