Skip to content

My Dueling Mind – #poetry #napowrimo

April 17, 2016

napo2016button1

Prompt: today I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that incorporates the idea of doubles

My Dueling Mind

Two of me lives within this mind
the darkened me, and a lighter kind

today I may show the lighter me
tomorrow she may cease to be

the darker me will seep right out
creep in shadows, flint about

remain for months, darker still
roam the halls against my will

and then a light will shine within
and brighter days, they will begin

I never know which one will come
from day to day, with the rising sun

but once the moon shines brightly high
the darkened me let’s out a sigh

‘It’s my turn to have some fun
your precious life will come undone!”

and so I give in to my darkened soul
until the day I can become whole

I know within me there’s still light
I won’t give up without a fight

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

12 Comments
  1. Dueling natures. I love it!

  2. This really spoke to me today. I’m feeling a bit of that duality and not the sunny bright one either. I’m doubly surprised as it’s spring and I’ve never failed to leave the darkness of winter behind, but it’s seems to be hanging on. 😦 Please someone send me that sunshine! 🙂 Love it!

    • I Understand how you feel, Yolanda.. I think perhaps it’s because Winter has lingered so long this year… we are just beginning to have warm days, but they nights are still so bitterly cold. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  3. A splendid respone to the cue, and a charming set of couplets.

  4. Deb permalink

    Seems like a duel we all go through sometime. Beautiful.

  5. Thank you, dear heart 🙂

  6. Thank you for including a link to my poem 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Article Read (4-17-2016) – Br Andrew's Muses
  2. My Article Read (4-17-2016) – My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

