Skip to content

Fortune Cookie Day – #poetry #napowrimo

April 13, 2016

napo2016button1

Prompt: The number 13 is often considered unlucky, so today I’d like to challenge you to beat the bad luck away with a poem inspired by fortune cookies.

(Unfortunately not all fortune cookies predict luck! Here is one [in italics at the end] that I saved from a while back.)

Fortune Cookie Day
(a prose poem)

What should have been a normal day began with a twist – from the corner of the sidewalk where my heel slipped. I hobbled down the road, whimpering in pain, stood upon the platform – I’d missed my destined train. I grabbed a cup of coffee and settled down to wait, then along came a thief determined to set me straight. He stole my money and my watch, my computer and phone, then laughed as I stumbled off to be alone. With no money to reach my destination, I headed off back home, where I happened upon the firemen and my house covered in foam. I’d left the curling iron on and a fire broke out. I was penniless with no home and not an ounce of clout. Could this day get any worse? I shouted and cursed. Then a stranger bought me food, Chinese of course, and as I read the fortune cookie, I bowed my head in remorse. It finally made sense, why my life was in a fray…

You learn from your mistakes… You will learn a lot today.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

15 Comments
  1. Well if I EVER get a fortune like that I’ll demand a new one straight away!!! Maybe TWO MORE just to be sure! 😮

    • *laughs* seriously! If it hadn’t been a delivered meal and I had ate in, I probably would have too 😀

  2. Thanks for stopping by for A to Z at GirlZombieAuthors! Looking forward to reading more of your blog, too! http://girlzombieauthors.blogspot.com

  3. It is better to learn now then have it as a looming sword over the heart, and have some impending learning from the good stuff 🙂 This prompt made me sound like a fortune cookie! I loved your take on it, especially since you picked a fortune that does not sound glamorous.

  4. Made me laugh, too. Great job with the internal rhymes 🙂

  5. Sounds like this day should be a do-over.

  6. *big smile*

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. NaPoWriMo – Day 13 -“Let Your Passions Take Your Breath Away” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)
  2. 04.13.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Write Orange Daily

script written through a tangerine dream

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

