Skip to content

Index of Famous Dying Words #poetry #napowrimo

April 12, 2016

napo2016button1

Prompt: Today, I challenge you to write your own index poem. You could start with found language from an actual index, or you could invent an index, somewhat in the style of this poem by Thomas Brendler.

(Note: this was harder than it seems – to make something poetic out of an index. Well, after 4 failed attempts… this is the best I could come up with.Β  And it’s pretty crappy. Didn’t like this prompt at all.)

Index of Famous Dying Words

Alive, swear to make them cut me open, so that I won’t be buried
Content, I am
Dark, turn up the lights, I don’t want to go home in the
Death, nothing, but
Flowers, too late for fruit; to soon for
Finished, friends applaud, the comedy is
Heaven, oh, do not cry – be good children and we will all meet in
Light, I see black
Martinis, I should never have switched from bourbon to
Mystery, now comes the
Rain, do you hear the
Rising, I must go in, the tide is
Time, all my possessions for a moment of
Understand, does nobody
Voices, I begin to hear
Way, I must have peace and this is the only

Β©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

17 Comments
  1. Thanks, Lori. I may try it sometime. I agree, it you aren’t enjoying it, go on to something else.

  2. Well done. That one was probably harder than the titles of books one.

  3. I actually liked the way this came together. It is a big strange, like someone who is dying, is confused, and doesn’t want to be finished with life, just yet. Yes, I like it a lot! πŸ™‚

    • oh, not a ‘big’ strange…a ‘bit’ strange…oops! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, dear πŸ™‚ it was probably the hardest thing I’ve ever written.. and most frustrating *laughs*

      • I hear you about frustrating. I tried doing a poem in the ‘Loop” form…never could get it, even after 9 hours of trying. So, this one, you just find an index of something, and work it into a poem? Sounds interesting, and you did great with it, in my opinion. πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, that was the basic premise of it… just an index of things or your own made up index. Yesterday was another frustrating prompt.. to write a san san.. I tried two or three times and just gave up. I am not going to write poetry that frustrates me.

  4. ‘Index of Famous Dying Words’, is quite different. Never thought that it could become poetical when you wrap it all together.

    ‘Way, I must have peace and this is the only’ feels like the perfect end to it.

    Loved it πŸ™‚

  5. Sorry this was frustrating for you, but I would say it was worth it just for this gem:
    “Flowers, too late for fruit; to soon for
    Finished”

  6. Delirical… It’s feverishness works, I think. Now for a bourbon!

    • Thank you, Angela πŸ™‚ that line about the bourbon was from Humphrey Bogart.. I just loved him and had to include it *laughs*

  7. This is lovely! Thanks for sharing.

    Happy A2Z (from one poet to another)!

    Erica
    http://www.ericageraldmason.com

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. NaPoWriMo – Day 12 – “Hate, A List Of Things I Really” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Write Orange Daily

script written through a tangerine dream

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

