Skip to content

Destiny’s Door – #drabble

April 5, 2016

for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

photo-20160404065539832

Destiny’s Door

I stood before the doors. Blue. Red. Green.

“Make a choice,” the Timekeeper said.

“But what if I choose the wrong door?”

“Use your gut. Which door appeals to you? That is the life you are meant to live,” he encouraged me and glanced down at the watch hanging from a chain on his pants. “Time’s a-wastin’!”

I closed my eyes. Followed my mind’s eye toward one of the doors. When I opened them, I stood before the blue one. I glanced back at the Timekeeper. He nodded. I turned the knob. An oceanic world lay before me. I swam.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved

(100 words)

25 Comments
  1. So if blue opens to an oceanic world, does that mean red opens to a volcano and green to the heart of a forest? The possibilities! Great story 🙂

    • I think so, Jade.. it would be interesting to see if it was that way for everyone who went through the blue door.. it might be something else entirely for someone else..
      Thank you, dear 🙂

  2. Loved this story… It has chold like wonder in it. 😀

  3. Great spin. I hope I’d chose the ocean one too if it comes to this.

  4. Was it the right door? We will never know. What we didn’t choose will always remain a mystery. Well done.

  5. Enjoyed reading this story! 🙂

  6. I would have a hard time choosing a door too knowing it was the door to my future. Love the spin you took on the prompt. Wonderful story, Lori!

  7. If blue is for water, it’s probably a good thing they didn’t choose the red door. Great story!

    Sorry, I had a giggle in the middle – I forgot for a moment that “pants” is American for “trousers” and imagined the Timekeeper standing there in his underwear 🙂

    • *laughs* oh yes.. that would have given me a giggle too! I think I imagine the red door standing for a live volcanic island.. not sure I would want to live there either! Cheers!

  8. Hope they were very good at swimming 🙂 Brilliant idea of this choosing a colour to match your destiny!

  9. I’m glad that wasn’t me. I never could swim…

    Keith Channing A-Zing from http://keithkreates.com

    • I can just swim enough not to drown unless I got sucked into a current, then I’d be in trouble! *laughs* thanks for stopping by Keith!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 04.05.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

