Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 94

April 3, 2016

Escape!

Describe your ultimate escape plan (and tell us what you’re
escaping from).

“Escape” Haibun

It will happen in the stillness and cover of night, when all are asleep. I will grab the bag I keep packed under my bed, grab my few prized possessions and put them in a satchel, and just leave. No sad goodbye notes, no see-ya-soons, not even a sorry-I-had-to-go. You won’t even know I am missing for the biggest part of the day. You will just think I am sleeping. By then, I’ve hit the bank for a withdraw and then off to the Amtrak station. You will probably think I’ve gone off on holiday to the beach, but no. I am headed to Maine. After a few days, you will assume I am still coming back, but no. I will be staying there. I won’t call, nor write, not even an email. When I do get there, I will change my name and start a new life. My life. Not the life you want me to live, not the life I should live, not even the life you thought I wanted all of these years. Did you even know me at all?

in darkness, shadowed
raven whispers her retreat
life’s wisdom, her prize

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

 

How about you, dear readers? Ever contemplated an escape plan? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

 

5 Comments
  1. It’s tempting sometimes, I have to admit…but then reality bites and I restore my balance. A quiet space and time is what I need regular doses of, and it’s easier now the kids are grown up and I’m not working.

    • It really is tempting.. I am glad you have the time and place for the solace you need now 🙂

      • I have ‘run away’ at times for a bit of peace. Once booked myself into a caravan park for a weekend. Another time I left for a whole week just to have some space and make a strong point about not being taken for granted 🙂 That was hard to do !

      • Ah.. those quick get-aways to save your sanity 🙂 I get it, Raili.. good for you, but I bet it was indeed difficult..

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 04.03.16 – End of Day Notes | As the Fates Would Have It

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

