Skip to content

A Cynical Life – #drabble

April 1, 2016

for Friday Fictioneers

mg-buildings

PHOTO PROMPT © Marie Gail Stratford

A Cynical Life

I glare down at the street below. People scurry about on foot and in cars. Just like roaches. Meddlesome people. I close the curtains. Turn on the television. Nothing but bad news. I switch it off. It’s time for the party anyway.I go to the bathroom and touch up my make-up and then go out the door.

The elevator opens to more encroaching people. I force my way through the crowd. Exhausted, I enter the conference room. The party’s in full swing. I frown at the laughter and joy. Put on my happy face.

“The clown’s arrived!” the children scream.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(100 words)

14 Comments
  1. Reason why people are scared of clowns lol. The mask behind the mask! Great story, well done!

  2. Dear Lori,

    Well written mask behind the mask story. Your last line was the perfect punchline. Good job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Time for a change of career, Punch and Judy perhaps

  4. I believe it!

  5. I can well imagine so many of them feel this way…

  6. Who is the real person that lives within

  7. That’s pretty much bang on what I expect a clown to be feeling, the creepy wee devils 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

