Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 92

April 1, 2016

The social network

Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it
because that’s where all your friends and family are?

Oh I definitely “get” social media. Most of the time it is a soul-sucking, time-stripping whore. I have seen people get so caught up in Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest to the point that they ignore their families, their own health, and life in general. I’ve also seen friendships blossom, families brought together from across the miles, and horrible battles that have ended in suicides.

I have to limit my time on social media. I can get lost there for hours. I’ve been sucked into sand traps, whisked down wormholes, and transported to otherworldly realms from spending too much time on Facebook and Pinterest. Twitter doesn’t have nearly that affect on me, but it too can become addictive, especially if you are promoting something and trying to build a following base.

The only reason I keep Facebook is because that is where my extended family are and since I do not get to seem them very often, it is my only contact usually. I do have a lot of close friends on there as well. But again, I have to limit my time or I would never get any writing done.

How about you, dear readers? Why do you use Social Media? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

12 Comments
  1. Yep, you captured it!

    Sharon Arthur Moore @good2tweat
    Parsley, Sage, and Rosemary Time

  2. I love social media.. It’s what keeps everyone connected.

    Mary
    Twitter: @KnottyMarie
    Literary Gold
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

  3. I have to watch myself with social media – I have an addictive personality so it can be bad if I really like a site. I love pinterest! But can waste an entire day on there if i go unchecked haha. Mostly I go on it now with a purpose so it’s not too bad. A lot of days I question my facebook account. I keep it since it’s an easy way to keep in touch with friends back home, but other than that I don’t really use it. Twitter I’m still a newbie at, only started it for my blog so we’ll have to wait and see how it affect me hehe.

    • Yeah.. I have an addictive personality too.. have to always keep myself in check. Beware! Twitter can become just as addictive *laughs* thanks for stopping by hun

      • Hehe – well I do check it a lot lately, but mostly to see what that air quality is like in Seoul…it might be an hour away but its still a good indication about what I’ll be breathing in Incheon haha

      • Ah yes.. that would be a good reason to keep check on it

  4. I’m not a really big user…just addicted to WP!😊

  5. I, too, use Facebook only to keep in touch with friends and family. I have accounts on others – Twitter, Google+, Tumblr; but rarely, if ever, call them up. WordPress automatically sends my blog posts to all four, and I receive the odd notification from them. Basically, though, my feeling is that life is too short for Twitter et al.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Write Orange Daily

script written through a tangerine dream

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

