Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 91

March 31, 2016

Odd couple

Does a messy home (or office) make you anxious and cranky,
or is cleaning something you just do before company comes
over?

I don’t like an overly messy house, but I couldn’t stand living in a clinically clean house either. I prefer it to look at least lived in. In my own space, I have piles of things – books, magazines, clothing, blankets, notebooks – and I keep a lot of personal items around me – pet rock, crystals, cigarette makings (I roll my own), personal grooming items. There’s always one or two drinking vessels around me, vitamins, and such. Some days it feels like my personal stuff is closing in on me and when that happens, I organize it all again. I have a chair that tends to be the catch-all and I clean it off when I know company is coming. Otherwise, I dust maybe once a month and do a deep cleaning about every three months. I only make my bed if I know company is coming. I like the tussled look. And it invites me to climb in and rest, though I don’t do that nearly as often as I should. I do have a routine of clearing my desk right before I begin a new writing project. It helps me to focus on the task at hand and gives me a clean fresh start.

How about you, dear readers? Messy or tidy? Share with me in comments.

 

7 Comments
  1. I liked a home to be ‘lived in’ – show homes make me feel uncomfortable, not able to relax in case I inadvertently drop a crumb off my eyelashes or something. I do like it to be relatively tidy and clean though.

  2. Here’s a funny…Yesterday my sisters-in-law came to visit. One hadn’t been there in two years. I cleaned and straightened. When they arrived, we were in the office–the messiest room. That’s where we visited for a bit. Isn’t that how it goes? I get on a de-clutter kick with office files for a while, but not for long enough. One day…;)

  3. I’ve stuff all around me but I’m living again at my parents’ house so things aren’t really how I like it. I cannot clean and tidy like I used to pre-injury although I like being surrounded by my books, textile magazines, sewing stuff, writing paraphernalia…and my dogs! 😉 I would like to clean more as fiance doesn’t quite do it right. :/

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

