Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 90

March 30, 2016

Five a day

You’ve being exiled to a private island, and your captors will
only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

I am going to assume that this private island will have cooking amenities and running water. Maybe even coffee and tea, since it says foods and not beverages. I am also going to assume that I could be here a while and this will be a one-time food drop to sustain me for some length of time. Hopefully there will also be fishing gear. Here are the foods I would choose and why:

  1. coconuts – they are an excellent source of fat and carbohydrates. You can drink the coconut water, mash the pulp and mix it with the beans, rice and sweet potatoes, or eat it on it’s own, and extract the milk from the pulp to make a sweet treat with the rice and sweet potatoes
  2. almonds – excellent source of fat, protein and a small amount of carbohydrates. They can be eaten raw or roasted. You can soak and mash them to make a milk.
  3. mung beans – these little treasures are filled with protein and lower in carbohydrates than most beans. They do not have to be soaked and they cook really fast.
  4. brown rice – good source of carbohydrates and protein, healthier than white rice.
  5. sweet potatoes – they are a good source of carbohydrates and a bit of protein. They are filled with good vitamins and they are sweet, so no sugar cravings!

I could live off of those five foods forever! I have lived on them for a few months at a time and never grew tired of them.

How about you, dear readers? What five foods would you list and why? Share with me in comments.

12 Comments
  1. They’re excellent choices Lori, couldn’t come up with anything better. Mung beans can also be soaked to make sprouts – and then you can use some of them to grow more 🙂 I believe you could probably do that with brown rice too. And if the sweet potatoes start to sprout, you can cut those off, plant them and grow more !!!!

    • Thanks, Raili.. oh yes, I forgot about being able to regrow those things! Awesome!
      As soon as I catch up on posts, I will return your email.. should be latter today for me.. morning for you? I think

  2. I’m guessing that on my supply of pizzas, chocolate and fizzy pop I wouldn’t survive very long 🙂

  3. dhirajanand permalink

    Enmities meaning?

    • hahaha.. I spelt implements wrong and I guess that is what auto correct decided on… yes.. I want hostile cooking utilities.. thanks for catching that 😀

      • dhirajanand permalink

        And I was wondering what this word is, checked on the dictionary too. Sorry, I had asked outta curiosity and not to point out a typo.

      • Oh no worries about that hun. I am glad you DID point it out.. can you imagine hostile cooking? *laughs* it actually gave me quite a chuckle!

      • dhirajanand permalink

        Hahaha I had not noticed that as I’d got stuck on the enimities at the start itself

    • or maybe I was spelling amenities? hmmm.. either way, auto correct ruled the day

      • dhirajanand permalink

        Hahahaha yes indeed it did.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

