Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 82

March 22, 2016

Stranded

You’re stranded in a foreign city for a day with no money
and no friends. Where do you go; what do you do?

If it’s only for one day, I can go without food, so no need to worry there. I would seek out every public spot – libraries (possibly water fountains in there?), parks, free museums and art studios, check out any local scenes where there could be street performers, artists, musicians, and the like. I would soak up as much free stuff as the city had to offer. And maybe, just maybe someone will offer me a drink in a bar or coffee shop if I sat there long enough reading a book. I would hang out in their hospital waiting rooms (possibly water fountains again?) and the airports, do a bit of people watching, sketching, or writing. And as night fell, I would go to the most romantic spot in the city and watch the sunset. Who says you need money or friends to soak up the flavors of a foreign city?

How about you, dear readers? If you were stranded and no money, what would you do? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

21 Comments
  1. I might end up at the library and if the museum is having any “free to public” days, I might go there too.

  2. Thanks for visiting Buttercupland. Being practical and often hungry, I think I’d head to a supermarket and see if there were samples.

    • My pleasure Carol 🙂 Thank you for stopping by here.. that’s a cool idea too, I hadn’t thought of that 😀

  3. Thanks for the comment on my A to Z post! Good on you to make so much of what sounds like a scary situation!

  4. I wouldn’t want to go a day without food. Even if one day doesn’t seem like much. I’d go to stores or outdoor markets for free samples. With a rumbling belly, I wouldn’t be able to enjoy anything.

    • *laughs* well I fast quite often, so it wouldn’t bother me.. the water would.. but those are some great ideas of where to find food! Thanks Chrys!

  5. I would find the American Embassy.

  6. I can give you professional advice as I do have no money.

  7. My response (not quite following the prompt, but it triggered a memory from three decades ago) will appear on Thursday at http://wp.me/p6t41V-2CP

  8. I’d probably do some of what you suggest, then find a Church, a charity or perhaps a food van if I was feeling in need of sustenance. If only a day, not too much of a big deal…

    • Yeah, I was thinking I could do without food, it would be water or some other form of drink that would do me in for a whole day 😀 Thanks for reading, Raili 🙂

  9. No lie. I’d curl up in a ball and cry. And pray that someone would take pity on me and take me under their wing.

    Mary @ Jingle Jangle Jungle

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Throwback Thursday — Stranded in Switzerland – Keith Kreates

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Write Orange Daily

script written through a tangerine dream

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

