Skip to content

#atozchallenge: Theme Reveal Blogfest Day

March 21, 2016

 

atoz-theme-reveal-2016 v2

Today I am celebrating the A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal! Drum roll, please….

For the Month of April, Promptly Written will be taking a giant leap into the future!

1989xsrr6b0nmjpg

I will be writing 26 original Science Fiction stories from prompts that I found on Mandy Wallace’s site here

science_fiction_quote

science-fiction-landscape-space-ships-futureEach story will be between 500-1000 words and the titles will correspond to a letter of the alphabet. I want to keep these stories short for easier reading pleasure this year.

 

 

 

It should be exciting. I hope you will all join me!

There is still time to sign up! You can do so here.

70 Comments
  1. Can’t wait to see your AtoZChallenge, it sounds awesome enterring into science fiction. I’m blogging blessings at http://llmcalling.blogspot.com and also poems about MS at http://mscalling.blogspot.co.uk/p/a-to-z-of-ms.html

    • Thank you, Emma! I will check out your blogs too! I love science fiction, so these should be fun 😀

  2. 30 FF stories – wow! I’ve just finished the fifth of mine, since I do them on Fridays. They’re all scifi set in my own universe, so it helps. Really impressed at what you’re taking on – I must catch at least half of them!
    Jemima Pett

  3. Very interesting. Seems like a LOT of work. You’re a much more prolific writer than I am! I’ll check back and read your stories.

    • Thanks Dena… I will probably agree with you by the end of the challenge *laughs* I do hope you will stop by and read a few of them. Have a great weekend!

  4. I loved your horror stories and I’ll definitely follow the sci-fi ones! Good luck with the challenge!

  5. So exciting! I love sci-fi. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  6. I’ll definitely be checking in during the month. Some good flash SF can be a great pick-me-up. Sometimes just a little nudge to look at the world from a slightly different angle is all it takes to make my day!

  7. Cool! I have never written sci-fi, but I love reading it. And the prompt challenge sounds interesting! See you in April! 🙂

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    The Multicolored Diary
    MopDog

  8. Would those be considered flash fiction? Should be fun.

    • Yeah, generally anything under 1000 words is still considered flash. After that it is considered Short Fiction.. under 500 is usually considered Micro Fiction.. and 100 words are Drabbles ha! It can get quite confusing

  9. Good luck — sounds like a great project for the a to z challenge. I have to back out — just can’t commit. But hopefully that won’t stop me reading other’s stories such as yours!

    • Sorry to hear you had to back out, Phylor.. but yes, I do hope you will stop by on occasion and read some of my stories 🙂

  10. Now that’s a brave theme – good luck with all the stories and I hope you have a great challenge. SciFi is one of my favourite genres. Also, thanks for visiting my blog.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

    • Thank you, Tasha! SciFi is one of my favorite genres too and I love writing stories in that genre.
      My pleasure (for visiting your blog). I look forward to reading you in April!

  11. Hi, that is quite a challenge! Have fun writing and have an awesome A-Z month!

    Best wishes.
    Nilanjana,

  12. ShawnTe permalink

    This theme sounds really cool. I can’t wait to check out some of these stories during my reading rotations next month!

    • Thank you, ShawnTe! I hope you will enjoy them… I will be checking out your blog as well 🙂

  13. I love reading science fiction but don’t have the imagination to write it. So looking forward to seeing what you come up with?

    • Thanks Robin 🙂 It my favorite genre to both read and write in 🙂 I hope you enjoy what you read 🙂

  14. Just awesome! I LOVE LOVE LOVE stories written from prompts! I love everything about your blog, you’ll see me around, for sure!

  15. Good luck with your sci-fi stories, I look forward to reading :).
    Sophie
    Sophie’s Thoughts & Fumbles | Wittegen Press | FB3X

  16. I’m sure that you’ll have a blast! I’m doing fiction too!

  17. That sounds really cool! I love sci-fi and I love stories, so I’ll definitely be dropping by to see what you’ve come up with 🙂

  18. I’m looking forward to this. While I’m not a huge fan of sci-fi, I’ve been wanting to expand my horizons just a little bit. This may just do the trick for me!

    Mary @ Jingle Jangle Jungle

  19. Hi I like this one kinda balances mine!! Talk to you soon! Much love…

  20. monti7 permalink

    Wow, that is quite a challenge for the Challenge! Love the art work.

    Mary Montague Sikes
    Notes Along the Way http://tinyurl.com/7kw4xdc

  21. I wish I’d thought of this theme! I can’t wait to read your stories. 🙂

  22. Good luck with your theme! It sounds fun. =)

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

  23. Awesome! I’m looking forward to reading them! #atozchallenge

  24. You’re back! 🙂

    The sci-fi stories sound like a treat to come. 😀

    • Thanks, Oscar! Well, I wasn’t quite back when this posted.. I had scheduled it.. thankfully lol But I am back now! yay!

      • I had no idea you could do that! :/ you sound quite organised. 🙂

      • yep.. where it says Publish, there is a little thing beside the words, if you click on that, it will give you a calendar and at the bottom of the calendar you can chose the time you want to post something (it’s in military time!).. you can even schedule things for months ahead of time…
        Oh Oscar, I only wish I was that organized.. lol I am a scattered mess most of the time 😀

      • Thanks for the tip Lori. 🙂 I notice you get lots of writing done so you can’t be doing things too badly! I wish I could get back into writing my fiction instead of the academic essays for my course.

      • I probably spend about 6 hrs a day writing.. it’s my full time job now that I am disabled. When will your courses be over? It must be hard wanting to write fiction and not having the time to do it.

      • I’m disabled woman too and I’m still young. I wanted to get this degree (in design) so I could teach part time, from home. I’m learning the ‘arts’ (history, poetry, literature) and the design element in a separate course – I’ve almost finished one year and there’s just five years to go! (I couldn’t manage a full time course and this degree course from learning at home is ideal for me).

        I LOVE writing fiction. I miss it 😦 . I’m proud to have finished one book though, Little Lord Oscar Dandelion (International Jewel – and Sandwich Filling – Thief). There’s an extract on my blog. 😉

        Good for you that you’re writing! 🙂

      • oh wow… you will have nearly as much college as I’ve had by the time you are done. Good for you! I wish you all the success in the world. I will go check out your extract. I do hope you will get back to your writing eventually.

      • I’ve living my life backwards 😉 , began working at age 15, left home at 19, was a step-mother at 20, married at 21, divorced at 25…….formally studying in my early 30s to now early 40s, but I’ve learnt a lot from life and self study such as learning a language, building basic web pages, professional graphics etc. I think learning is a life long thing, don’t you? 🙂

        Did you enjoy college? What did you learn?

        Thanks for the encouragement for my creative writing. 🙂 xo

      • Wow.. you have led quite a life! I went back to college late.. had gone when I was 17 and dropped out shortly after I turned 18.. didn’t go back until I was 25… I had 2 years of a community college, 2 years for my Bachelors in English, 2 years for my Masters in Liberal Arts and then did a Certificate of Advanced Studies in Creative Writing for a year.. I took liberal arts courses, a lot of creative writing, history, language (Spanish and Russian) and art. I loved college. If I hadn’t run out of money and could have gotten grants instead of take out more loans, I would probably still be in college. I love learning.. Always wanted to study psychology and archaeology too 😀 I think it is great that you are doing self study courses and you are a phenomenal writer.. so be proud of yourself for all you’ve accomplished 🙂

      • Oh I’m jealous, lol, that you did a course on creative writing! 🙂
        Aren’t foreign languages beautiful? The way they sound, and put together and the different meanings compared to our own. The extra words.
        You are kind, thank you, I love words and imaginary worlds where I escape to. I enjoy your talent too. 🙂 💕🐻

      • Ah, don’t be jealous, you are young and could still do many creative writing courses 🙂 I love learning languages. Something so gratifying about learning them and exploring them 🙂

      • I’ve added your book to my “must get immediately” wishlist, but my immediately won’t be until mid-April, unfortunately. But I will own it and I will read it 😀

      • Ah thank you! I hope you will enjoy it, it’s a fun kind of book. Not really Animal Farm, more My Family and Other Animals but with the animal-human roles reversed! 😮

        Do you have any books for sale yourself? If so, I will have a look. 🙂

      • I do look forward to reading it. I was delighted by your story for how it came about. No, I am not published. I just write fiction, flash fiction and poetry and put them on my blog. I’ve thought about getting published or self publishing, but I’d rather be writing than go through all you have to go through for either of those

      • Why not put a collection together and self publish in an ebook? I see your own passion. Perhaps work with artists to illustrate and support your poetry and flash fiction? Just a thought that last bit. 🙂

      • I don’t know. The thought has crossed my mind a few times. It would just take time and I’d rather use that time to write

  25. Looking forward to reading your SF stories! 🙂

  26. This promises to be fun…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Notice: I’m Back Online! | A Whispered Wind

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

