Skip to content

366 Days of Writing Prompts – Day 71

March 11, 2016

Ghostwriter

If you could have any author –living or dead – write your
biography, who would you choose?

Well, I would say Stephen King, but my life isn’t scary enough (although maybe twisted enough!) for his creative mind. Or I could say Orson Scott Card, but I don’t think I am outer-spacey enough for him (nor religious enough – FYI: he’s a Mormon). So that only leaves my third favorite author who would probably get me really well: William Goyen. He wrote this book called The House of Breath that just completely blew me away. Very stream of consciousness. Tragic and deep. I think he would understand my life enough to actually tell my story in such a way that I would be finally and utterly understood by those outside of the art scene (art as in music, literature, art, dance, etc. – you know, the artsy people), especially if he wrote it like he did The House of Breath, but not like his later books – they weren’t very well received. I also think he would understand about my mental illness and how it has affected me and those around me. He would also understand the peculiar person that I am sexually, spiritually and emotionally. He was quite a sensitive person himself. Yes, if he were still alive, I would definitely want him to write my biography. I mean, if he could write so well about Jesus, why not about me? *smirks*

How about you, dear readers? Which Author would you want to write your biography? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

12 Comments
  1. Stephen King would do you good! 🙂 Mine is someone that writes like the person she is writing about is someone famous to the Hollywood scene or Music mogul types. Jackie Collins is someone I read all of her books. My favorite character she developed is Lucky Stangelo. I want her to make me famous….lol

    • Oh Jackie Collins would be a great choice. I’ve only read a few of her books, but if you want to be famous, she could definitely write it 😀

  2. Andrew Davidson. His novel The Gargoyle was worryingly weird and twisted but also wonderfully descriptive, clever and enlightening.Not that I’m weird and twisted, you understand! I just love the way he writes.

    • *laughs* nothing wrong with being weird and twisted. I’ve never read Davidson’s work.. I will have to check him out 😀 thanks for sharing, Aileen!

  3. I know he’s dead, but my choice would be Bryce Courtenay. He tells a beautiful story wrapped around personalities in his books bringing in all the shades that go to make up life 🙂

    • Oh! I remember him… read “The Power of One” for a literature class in College (we read works from authors from all over the world and the teacher had been to South Africa and actually met Bryce, so of course she included his book 😀 ).. he IS a darn good writer!

      • I’ve read every single book. I was so sorry when he died. He was writing his last book which he’d intended to continue as a sequel and had to wrap it up in one volume as he knew he wouldn’t have time to do more 😦

      • Oh 😦 that is so sad. I will have to see if I can find more of his books. Gosh it’s been 20 years since I read The Power of One… might have to re-read it too.

  4. Deb permalink

    I would definitely stick with Stephen King. He would bring to life some of the dark moments in my life a lot better than I can.:-)

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

