Skip to content

Great Things – Flash Fiction

March 4, 2016

for FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER: WEEK #10 – 2016

 

Great Things

I know it’s only been three weeks, but I am already missing my brother. He is only five. Much too young to work in the factory. At eleven, some think I am too young too, but I will show them. I am strong and hearty, not weak and sickly like some of the girls here.

I gaze longingly out the window. The family farm is too far away to see, but I know where it is. Just there, past the smoke stacks of the steel mill, just over the mountain, on a dirt road somewhere beyond that. I shrug off the nostalgia and go back to my machine. Another ten hours of stitching shoes. A twelve-hour work day. Seven days a week.

I place another rubber sole over the metal plate. Twist the leather around it and turn on the machine. As the machine hums, I remember Poppa’s words.

“You have a chance to do great things, Emmy. The city will be lonely, but we are always right here,” he said, pointing to my heart.

I weep for a moment, sniffle, and dry up my tears. I am strong and hearty. I will do great things.

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(198 words)

 

25 Comments
  1. Great short story full of emotion. Loved the ending 🙂

  2. “She’ll make it — there will be troubles — but she’ll make it,” she said. “Another source of information on child labour are inquiries made by governments into working conditions. With all the digitization . . .For example: Canada: Royal Commission into Capital and Labour; US: the National Archives. Just thoughts. A sad and fascinating topic,” she concluded.

    • Thanks hun! I will check out those sources because I really may write a longer piece on this subject! You are a gem!

  3. What a beautiful story – her family will always be with her, in her heart ❤

  4. What a strong young lady! Great perspective!

  5. Extremely heartbreaking…wonderfully written!

  6. I feel for Emmy, especially with that great last line.

  7. I love this! What a beautiful ending ❤

  8. That’s a beautiful story… inspired.

  9. Fabulous story of longing and determination Lori. So well done.

  10. This was a beautiful, beautiful story — could become a novel!
    Reminds me of those poor factory girls in Lowell, Massachusetts, working for hours on their feet, sleeping for a few hours every night in their girls’ hostel-house, and dealing with harsh employers.
    I thank my stars that we have more protection from predatory employers these days, although there are still horror stories out there.
    The humanity in your story is touching and lovely.

    • Thank you, dear… yes, I was thinking this could be worked into a novel as well. I had to scale it down quite a bit to fit it into the 200 word limit. Thank you for telling me about the factory workers in Lowell, MA. I will have to do some research on this now as it has greatly peaked my interest 🙂 I too am glad the policies have changed some and I have lived the horrors of being a young woman working under harsh conditions. No fun at all, but not nearly as bad as then.

  11. Wonderful! This really drew me in. So sad at the end.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

