Skip to content

Sunday Photo Fiction – The Homecoming

February 28, 2016

145-02-february-28th-2016

The Homecoming

The crowd moved along the walkway. Men, women, children, city workers and police officers. All headed in the same directions. Traffic came to a stop. People left their automobiles and joined the crowd. No one had a clue exactly where they were going. No one asked. They just walked ahead.

They arrived at the center of the City. Stood transfixed around a large, grey circular object. Bright blue and red lights blared from the object. Blinking rapidly. The object hummed as though it were a giant beehive. Finally, the lights dimmed, the hum softened and a large door opened slowly in the center of the object.

Three men dressed in space suits emerged from the object. The crowd of people shouted with glee. Cheers and roars echoed through the City. The mayor appeared and gave the men medals. Women showered them in flowers. Children ran to them and handed them gifts. A parade was announced. Food prepared. Music rang out from everywhere. It would be a celebration to trump all celebrations.

Their astronauts had returned. Their ten-year mission completed. The men gazed up at the twin moons rising in the late evening sky. Mars never looked so grand.

Β©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(198 words)


 

spf

For Sunday Photo Fiction with friends

32 Comments
  1. Nicely written. I like the twist of them being on Mars.

  2. Two cheers for the astronauts returning home safely! I loved your last two lines. I can only imagine being able to view Mars in its full glory in outer space only to return home and see it as a mere blimp if you’re lucky.

    • Thanks, Jade πŸ™‚ Yes, I keep telling my dad that I want to go into space.. to Mars… he just laughs at me.. but imagine that beauty! wow. Thanks for stopping by dear πŸ™‚

      • I’ve always harbored a little desire to be able to see the Earth upclose and personal like that. Can you just imagine the beauty?
        Keep writing beautifully and I’ll keep stopping by πŸ™‚

      • That would be an amazing view. And thank you, Jade πŸ™‚

  3. I love all the diverse takes on this prompt.

  4. Love the ending … and all hail the wandering heroes!

  5. Great twist. Wonder what they have been doing for the last ten years. Going to look at Alpha Centauri maybe.

  6. That’s a neat perspective. I can imagine a time when Ol’ Red is home sweet home. Now, the question I have is, where did they go for 10 years, further out or back to a desolate Earth? πŸ™‚

  7. Lovely twist! Wonder if their 10 year mission was to Earth?
    Great story.

  8. Neat take. I love that it was actually astronauts from earth returning and not aliens landing. Great job!

  9. Gray, red, and blue. Greatly resembles a Pepsi can.

  10. Ooh, great twist!

  11. I, too, expected to make the usual cry of “Oh, no!” at the end. Nice scene-setting.

  12. This leaves us guessing until the end. Excellent!

  13. I was waiting for an ending with a twist, Lol!! See what reading your stories has done to me πŸ™‚ Nice one

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!β„’

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

