Skip to content

#SoCS Feb. 27/16 – My Double-Edged Sword

February 27, 2016

for Stream of Consciousness Saturday – Prompt: Food

socs-badge-2015

Food is both a great love and a horrid nemesis. My double-edged sword. It sustains my life, but it also causes me great illness. You see, I am a diabetic and every morsel I put into my body raises insulin and my blood sugar. It doesn’t matter if it is a carbohydrate, a protein or a fat. All of them affect me, but thankfully not equally.

My greatest love is of course carbohydrates. I love almost all vegetables and fruits. I adore bread, all kinds of bread. I dream of donuts, pastries, pies, cakes, and candy. I could devour an entire box or bag of chocolate in one sitting. All of these spike my blood sugar enormously. Yes, even leafy greens. Sadly, I cannot eat anything sweet or starchy. Nothing processed. No fruit. And only non-starchy vegetables in very limited amounts. I cannot eat more than 20 grams of carbohydrates per day.

Protein comes in second on my list of loves. I adore steaks, roasts, and hamburgers. I love chicken and turkey. Ham and pork chops are to die for. And fish, well, I could eat it every day. Cheese is also a great love. Sour cream, yogurt, and whipped toppings really turn me on. But again, too much of any of these and up goes my blood sugar levels. Sometimes it will go as high as if I’d eaten an entire box of donuts. I have to limit how much of any protein I eat to under 50 grams per day.

And then we come to fats. Thankfully I do love certain fats. Olive oil, butter, coconut oil, avocados, nuts, olives and fatty meats like sausage and bacon. And still I have to be careful of these. Although they do not spike my blood sugar enormously or very quickly, they do cause a small rise. I can have all of these, but the avocados, nuts, and olives in only small amounts because they also have protein and carbohydrates in them. And I have to limit the fatty meats because of protein. I usually eat about 70-90 grams of fat per day.

When you love food as much as I do, these restrictions because of diabetes cause a love-hate relationship. And unfortunately, unlike some diabetics, sugar substitutes do not work well for me. Aspartame makes me numb all over. Sucralose gives me migraines. Sugar alcohols give me horrid stomach cramps. The only substitute I can use is Stevia, but again, only in small amounts, because yes, you guessed it, it does spike my blood sugar a bit.

O Food, how I love to hate you!

 

From → SoCS, Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. I don’t eat sweet things at all really, apart from plain chocolate digestive biscuits, I’ve got a bit of a weakness for them. I eat most things (in huge amounts) and I’m one of those lucky bastards who never ever puts on weight. My weight hasn’t varied by more than half a stone for over thirty years.

  2. That sounds awful. And I know I’d be the same, because I can’t handle artificial sugars, either. This post might be the best caution I’ve read. Keeps me mindful. Thank you for sharing.

    • I am glad my post is a mindful reminder to you, Joey. Thank you for reading and commenting šŸ™‚

  3. Oh, how frustrating. I hadn’t any idea diabetics were so restricted. You encourage me to watch my diet!

    • Thanks, Linda. It is horribly restrictive. But only if you are mindful of your diet and don’t want to be on endless medication. Yes, if you have any diabetes in your family, please do watch your diet.

  4. O how I love to hate food too!!! šŸ™‚

  5. Oh dear! I bet it’s not funny loving some things and hating them too.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!ā„¢

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

