Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 58

February 27, 2016

Comedy of errors

Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go
wrong.” Write about a time everything did — fiction
encouraged here, too!

The Wrong Number

I’m lying in bed dreaming and the phone rings.

I leap to my feet, the phone ten feet away, and I wonder who could be calling at two in the morning.

And the floor’s cold and cluttered and I stumble over boxes, and still the phone rings.

The ringing pounds through my head as my feet pound the floor and I race over the dog and the basket of laundry, catching my foot in an old pair of jeans.

And all the while, the phone rings.

I shake off the pants and I shake off the fatigue as I race to the phone that still rings and rings.

And finally, I reach it – that damn ringing phone – and mutter an exhaustive “hello?

And the voice on the other end says, “Oh sorry, wrong number.”

©2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

15 Comments
  1. and then I dial back the once familiar number flashing on the phone.
    “Coffee tomorrow? at the coffee shop?”
    A split second of silence at the other end seems like an eternity as I hear her giving in.
    “You know what they say about best friends right? The quarrels that last more than a night need some conversations over coffee more than apologies.”
    She smiled at the other end.

    • oh wow, that’s an awesome conclusion CM… thank you 😀

      • Stories with a loosely hanging end are so tempting. your short piece of fiction made me wonder , what next and I gave in 🙂

      • *laughs* well feel free to give into it any time with anything I write.. I enjoy seeing others’ ideas 🙂

      • you have got yourself a deal there , lady 🙂

      • Awesome 😀

  2. Funny thing that actually happened to me one night….fell right over kids toys and when I did make it to phone it was wrong # too LOL:-)

  3. Thank goodness I’ve never gotten many phone calls that were wrong numbers in the middle of the night. I enjoyed this.

  4. When that happens to us, it’s usually something like “Laurent est là?”.
    A few years ago, in UK, I had a sequence of four calls on my mobile, each time a male voice asked to speak to Linda. I said there was no Linda here. On the fifth occasion, the same man, now clearly angry, asked me what I was doing with his daughter’s phone!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ticket – The Write Project

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

