Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 56

February 25, 2016

Cliché

Clichés become clichés for a reason. Tell us about the last
time a bird in the hand was worth two in the bush for you.

I don’t necessarily consider this a cliché, but it is an old proverb. One that I once knew the meaning of, but have long since forgotten. So I looked it up:

Meaning

It’s better to have a lesser but certain advantage than the possibility of a greater one that may come to nothing.

Origin

This proverb refers back to medieval falconry where a bird in the hand (the falcon) was a valuable asset and certainly worth more than two in the bush (the prey).

For me, the year was 2001. I was growing weary of not making a life for myself with someone else. A strange concept to me now, because I feel perfectly okay with living a solitary lifestyle now. But at the time, I still believed that you needed a partner to feel complete. Such a silly notion!

I had a few prospects: a truck driver from Oklahoma, a nurse, and an Iranian who deemed himself madly in love with me and would shower me with anything my heart desired, but only if I would convert to Islam to be his bride.

At the time, I was madly in love with the nurse. She was a close friend and my lover. I would have done anything for her. The Iranian was persistent, sending me flowers to my job, offering to buy me a new car (he owned a successful car dealership), and offering to buy me a new house (when I married him, of course). The truck driver was a new addition. I’d met him online in an AOL chat room. We’d spoken on the phone a couple of times, exchanged emails, and met once. He too was persistent, but a modest man with modest means. Both the nurse and the Iranian had a good deal of financial wealth. Eventually, the nurse left my life to pursue other things. She’d just ended one marriage and besides seeing me, she was also dating a man whom she’d cheated on her husband to be with. She’d had a previous marriage with 2 kids and she wanted to get her kids back. An alternative, bisexual relationship would not be seen appropriate. A delicate, sticky situation. So we parted ways. This left the two persistent men.

As an independent, free-spirited woman who’d always balked at anything strict and full of rules, I guess you can imagine who I turned down. Yes, the Iranian. Although he could have given me everything I’d hoped for in life, the one thing he could never give me was my spiritual freedom. Plus, I was not in love with him. At all. Not even a little.

I wouldn’t say that I settled for the trucker. I am sure I could have found someone else if I had continued to search, but I did not. Although my heart belonged to the nurse, I knew she would never be apart of my life again. I slowly released her and opened my heart to the trucker. He was a good guy, or so it seemed at the time. He was generous and trusting.  I allowed this trucker to prove to me that he would be a good partner. We married later that year on Halloween. The marriage lasted 13 years. It was a stormy one for the better part of the last 9 years. But I never wanted for anything. He was a good provider, gave me my spiritual freedom, but by this time, I was sinking into severe mental illness and it affected our marriage greatly. Plus, he is a narcissist, something that I didn’t know at the beginning of the marriage. I wouldn’t say that I wasted 13 years with him though, but I definitely learned that I didn’t need a partner to be fulfilled. All I truly needed was to love ME and be happy with ME and all else would fall into place.

How about you, dear readers? Ever had a situation where “a bird in the hand was worth two in a bush?” Share your thoughts with me in comments.

2 Comments
  1. Life takes interesting twists and turns, that’s for sure. Your last sentence sums it up so beautifully 🙂

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

