Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 53

February 22, 2016

Seconds

Describe the most satisfying meal you’ve ever eaten, in glorious
detail.

The dinner began with a glass of  Sauvignon Blanc. A delightful taste of apples and pears. A salad followed, served with crisp romaine lettuce, plump juicy tomatoes, a few slivers of sweet red onion, top with some Parmesan cheese and creamy Italian dressing – tangy and sweet. Warm Italian rolls with herbed butter were served with the salad.

Next came four large ricotta-filled raviolis with a tomato and basil sauce. A glass of Sangiovese rich with a berry and plum flavor accompanied them.

We rested with the wine while we waited for the main course, conversation flowed as much as did the wine. The four of us, all students, all writers were unaccustomed to such fine dining, but we were guests and so we did our best to fit in. Our hosts, a renown English  college professor and his wife, were determined to show us a good time since we’d all won such prestigious awards for our writing.

Finally the main course arrived, as did glasses of Merlot, full-bodied with the flavor of black cherries. Plates of Chicken Parmesan and angel-hair pasta were passed around. The chicken was lightly breaded in an herb mixture, covered with a tomato and basil sauce, topped with Parmesan cheese and more fresh basil. The pasta was al dente, just enough of a chewy bite to it. Grilled asparagus in a light garlic sauce was served on the side. More warm Italian rolls and herbed butter completed the meal.

We ate and chatted, discussed our upcoming writing projects. Received advice and feedback from both the professor and his wife, who was also a gifted novelist. The conversation was light-hearted and rich. Soft classical Italian music played in the background.

Dessert followed with cups of rich, full-bodied Italian espresso and squares of Tiramisu – tender coffee-infused cookies in incredibly rich mascarpone cream with a gentle dusting of cocoa powder. We were all in heaven.

The evening ended with a quiet walk along the Pavilion. I’d never been treated to such an elegant meal and never have since. Those were the days of intense writing and long discussions into the night. The highlight of my college years.

What was the best meal you’ve ever had? Share your thoughts with me in comments.

19 Comments
  1. I’m hungry now 🙂 We have a cafe here on the southern coast called the Flying Fish. They serve the best freshly caught South Australian King George Whiting. Lightly crumbed, served with crunchy chips and a crisp, fresh green salad whilst sitting at a window table watching the waves breaking on the shore, sipping a glass of well chilled local white wine. All our local wines are awesome. Our state is the home to many excellent vineyards – we’re spoilt for choice 🙂

    • OMGoodness Raili, that sounds divine! Whiting is one of my favorite fish, but I’ve never had it freshly caught. Would love to live near local vineyards.. I adore wine 🙂

  2. Not a meal for me but a food. I thought I’d eaten pineapple before, it was sour bs I really didn’t like it. Then I visited a large pineapple growing area in Thailand …. A lady pulled the pineapple fresh for the field still warm from the sun, I wasn’t looking forward to this but I wasn’t going to be rude when she was being so kind. With the taste of imported pineapple in my head I sliced into the fruit, juice freely ran everywhere, I bit into it and a flavour that I had never experienced exploded in my mouth, it was as if I was eating liquid sunshine. I return to this area every year now and eat pineapple by the ton.

  3. Wow Lori that sounds amazing!!! The experience itself made the meal even better it seems…..

    I will have to think of my best meal….hummmm???

  4. I think the best meal I’ve ever had would be the first time I ate at a diner. The meal was huge and filling. I was very happy in the end. It had two breaded catfish fillets on one plate, on another, it had wonderful scramble eggs and grits while on the third plate was two thick slices of cinnamon raisin toast.

    • Oh yum! that would definitely be a filling meal! I love catfish! probably my favorite kind of fish.

      • Me too, definitely my favorite kind of fish by far.

      • Awesome! have you ever had it with hush puppies and cole slaw? omg so good!

      • What are hush puppies?

      • they are round balls of cornmeal, onions and herbs deep fried until crispy… delicious!

      • The crispy part sounds delicious but not the onions part but I imagine it would taste yummy either way.

      • yeah… the onions don’t have to be in them… some places have them, other places not.. it just adds flavor to the cornmeal which is pretty bland without it.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

