Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 52

February 21, 2016

Undo

If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss
why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative.

I hate to do it, but I have just un-invented the cell phone. Sorry folks that soul-sucking device no longer exists. Now you have to stand quietly in check-out lanes like the rest of us non-cellphone users. No more texting your buddy sitting right beside you. You can still have your other handheld devices: tablets, PDAs, and laptops, but no more cellphones! Landlines are still around. We’ve reinstalled payphones on every street corner. We’ve even established phone boxes on the major highways at all rest stops. And as another throw-back, we are making CB radios available for your automobiles, so what if you have to learn another language, you DID learn shorthand for texting, so I know you will be a-okay! Communication has not broken down, you are just not constantly plugged in and having your life sucked away by that tiny contraption strapped to your ears that you deem so damn important that you cannot interact with another soul, ever… unless via that damn thing.

I do see some repercussions. Emergencies will take longer for response. People will actually have to buy a camera if they want to take selfies. And social media like Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. may suffer a bit, but I did say you could keep your tablets and laptops! You do remember how to use those, right? And of course, we will have to wipe the memories of all those poor souls so that they won’t remember their rudeness from having cellphones. I wouldn’t want them to fall into despair from remembering that.

Oh yes! The future looks so much brighter in a world without cellphones! It’s the future! Embrace it!

How about you? If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Share your thoughts with me in the comments!

 

6 Comments
  1. I would un-invent fast food restaurants! Everyone would go back to growing their own vegetables in rich soil untainted soil and eat fresh vegetables and livestock from their local farms. Of course that would mean young people would be busy actually working with their hands (as opposed to texting and video gaming). What do you think?

    • Oh yes! that is a wonderful idea! I would definitely enjoy that un-invention! I was talking to my dad just last night about wishing we owned our own farm πŸ™‚ Lovely idea, Davina!

  2. There are days when I would quite happily agree with you. Alas, it is but a dream πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you, dear πŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Article Read (2-21-2016) – My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!β„’

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

