Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 43

February 12, 2016

All about you

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to
you.

I have three main blogs, so I will explain each one.

Promptly Written came about as a way for me to explore my writing skills using prompts. As a writer, ideas don’t always come easily. Sometimes it is like pulling teeth to get my muses to open up and spill their ideas. So to encourage them and to prevent writer’s block, I use prompts.

A Whispered Wind is actually the title of an unfinished novel that I’ve been working on for ages (and probably will never finish as my writing styles have changed). This is actually the first blog that I began here on WordPress. It started off as a place just to post my older poetry and short fiction. Prior to that, I’d been posting all of my work on another site and had a falling out of sorts with some of the writers there. So I decided to move to WP. Sometimes it feels like a waste of time to maintain two writing blogs, but since I don’t always use prompts to write, it still kind of makes sense to me. I’ve gotten in the habit of writing “small stones” there which are generally a poetic form of how my day is going, what I’ve witnessed that day, or just random thoughts running through my head. I’ve also started a new blog-share there for poets called Hump Day Poetry which is held once a week on Wednesdays. It is still in its infancy, but I do hope it will grow to something more.

As the Fates Would Have It is my personal journal. It came about as a way for me to rid my head of random BS. The title came about as I thought about how fateful my life is and how I have happenstance moments. It was a private journal for nearly a year before I began posting publicly. Those private entries are still locked away and will probably never see the light of day.

I would love to hear about your blogs. How did you decide on a title and what does your blog mean to you? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

2 Comments
  1. This is very interesting Lori. I do sometimes wonder how people manage many bogs, it’s so time consuming! For me, anyway. maybe because I’m just a fledgling. My blog name came from my business – Soul gifts – which is all about metaphysical, healing stuff, essential oils, spiritual alchemy. I had already bought a domain name using that so it was a no brainer except for the tag line. Because I wanted to use it as a platform for my creative writing, I tapped into my muse, as you say, and out it came : Telling Tales – creating magic with words!

    • That is fascinating how you were led to use the name again and add that tag line! I love it. It is original and creative. And it adheres to your spiritual gifts too! Awesome 😀

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

