Skip to content

Tiger Terror – Horror Flash Fiction

February 4, 2016

It was 3am. I woke to the sound of floorboards creaking. Problem is, the floors in my house are made of polished cement……
Mesmerised, I sat and watched my beautiful pet cat morph into a snarling tiger………..

Prompt suggestion from Soul Gifts


 

Tiger Terror

Creaaaak. Creaaaak.

I lift my head from its resting place and listen, my eyes widen in the darkness.

Creaaak. Creaaak.

What’s that noise? It sounds like creaky floor boards. How is that possible? My floors are made of polished cement.

I reach for the lamp by the bed and switch it on. The clock says 3 am in a ghostly white glow. I glance around the room. Then I feel paws on the end of the bed. Oscar, my Birman, I suspect. The creaking must be from the bed. I look down at my covered-feet.

“Hey kitty kitty,” I whisper. “Come to mama.” I pat the bed beside me. He just stands there, paws on the bed, staring at me with his blue eyes.

I’ve been waiting for this, a voice echoes inside my head.

“Are you speaking to me, Oscar?”

You’ve had this coming for a long time, the voice announces.

“Had what coming? What are you talking about?”

Before my eyes, Oscar begins to morph. Slowly my beautiful silver-tipped Birman transforms into a silvery Bengal tiger. I am mesmerised. I cannot stop watching. His eyes shift from blue to blazing red. He snarls.

Remember all those times you made me wait for dinner?

Oscar inches up on to the bed. I am frozen, in fear and in awe.

Kept me locked out of the house overnight?

He creeps closer. His sharp teeth are exposed and saliva drips down his furry chin.

Threw away the mice I brought to you as gifts?

He leaps fully on to the bed, crushing me with his weight.

And tonight you chose your lover’s head on your lap instead of me! No more!

Oscar plunges toward me. I scream. I feel his fangs sink in. Warm blood trickles down the side of my neck.

“I am sorry. I am sorry, Oscar! Please!”

Oscar lifts his head.

I thought things would change when we moved here, but they’ve only gotten worse! I loved you. I cherished you. And what have you done for me? You’ve betrayed me for the last time!

Oscar rips away the covers. Claws at my helpless, frozen body. Muffles my screams with his jaws before tearing into my face with his teeth.

As my body gives way to death, I murmur, “I didn’t know. God save me, I didn’t know…”

©February 2016 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

(392 words)

13 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on soulgifts – Telling Tales and commented:
    On a whim, I responded to a request by https://promptlywritten.wordpress.com/2016/02/04/tiger-terror-horror-flash-fiction/comment-page-1/#comment-566 for some prompts to write horror flash fiction. Guess what – they got used. Yikes!! Thanks Lori 🙂

  2. Cool! Even though I’m not a huge horror fan, it’s kind of nice to see my prompts being woven into a story. And there wasn’t an awful lot of blood…. Thanks 🙂

  3. mattysan permalink

    hey lori!…i loved it!..awesome!….sounds like somethng i need to remember for my little calico kitty back home…..actually it sounds like a nightmare like dream…

    • *laughs* thanks mattysan! I am glad you enjoyed my story… yes, you may wish to keep an eye on your calico ha!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tiger Terror – Horror Flash Fiction – soulgifts – Telling Tales

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

