Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 35

February 4, 2016

Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make
it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

I am an all-in kinda gal. Every major change that I have made in my life has been instantaneous or cold-turkey. I’ve never done well by doing things in stages. It would probably be less stressful that way, but I have an addictive personality and I know this about myself. Just one taste of whatever I am trying to overcome and I fall right back into old patterns.

Making changes is scary enough for me. I don’t handle them very well. I love my comfort-zones and cling to them like a sailor does the shore when washed away from his ship. My knuckles grow white and my muscles tense up. So the only way for me to instigate change is to let go. Free-fall. Take the plunge.

When you know this about yourself, it does make it easier to accept changes. The acceptance is easier. The change, maybe not so. But it does make it successful, at least it does for me.

And because I just must…. for your listening pleasure today:

8 Comments
  1. I’m glad to have found your 365 days of prompts. I’ve loved them all, but I especially relate to this one. We have a joke about this in my home, “Go big or go home!” I’d sometimes like to do things a little more incrementally, but not my style either. —Where are you getting your prompts? I look forward to reading more!

    • Thanks, Trista 🙂 I am glad you can relate… I found these prompts here on WordPress… it is a .pdf file or I would post it.. I don’t even know where I found it on here now or how to locate it again since they’ve done their upgrade. If you would like for me to email the file to you, my email address is ravynehawke(a)gmail(dot)com just pop me an email 🙂

      • Oh, thanks! You know, your reply made me laugh out loud at myself because I remembered downloading WordPress prompts a while ago, too. I just forgot I’d done it. I’ll search through my documents and see if I can find it. I’m 90% sure I still have it. Your responses make the prompts seem more interesting than when I read them the first time!!

      • Oh thank you, Trista 🙂 some of the prompts do seem boring and some days it takes me a bit of serious thinking to come up with something for them. Do be sure to let me know if you cannot find your download and I will still be happy to send mine along via email 🙂

  2. This is my favorite Bowie song… I am sort of a hybrid on change. I am a Cancer on the cusp of Gemini and find it helpful to just go full on Gemini if change is in the air. Gemini is more adaptable. Adopting habits and such though, I am better at just diving in. All or nothing.

    • That’s interesting, Hart… I am a Gemini on the cusp of Cancer and tend to cling to the Cancer side when it comes to change… life sure is funny sometimes.. I’ve never run into a cuspy from the other side to see how they react to both of our signs. Thanks!

  3. Thank for the link!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Article Read (2-4-2016) – My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

