Skip to content

Audrey and Grace – The Embodiment of Elegance

January 18, 2016

for JusJoJan – prompt: Elegance

Whenever I hear the word Elegance, I think of two women: Audrey Hepburn and Grace Kelly. I remember watching their movies as a child and imagining myself as them. They embodied everything graceful and elegant in the world.

6a00e008dca1f08834017c383f2503970b-500wi

The first time I saw Audrey Hepburn was in the movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I imagined myself being in New York, dressed like Holly Golightly and living it up as portrayed in the movie. This is one of the few movies that I watch yearly. I have seen every movie she has ever been in. My second favorite movie is Sabrina with William Holden (maybe some day I will talk about my obsession with him! ha!) followed by my third favorite Roman Holiday with Gregory Peck. And who could forget her elegant role in My Fair Lady with Rex Harrison! But Audrey was so much more than just an elegant actress to me. Her humanitarian work as Goodwill Ambassador of UNICEF was also handled with style and grace.Β  In my eyes, Audrey remains one of the most elegant women in the world.

Grace Kelly: from serene screen beauty to serene highness.

Long before Grace Kelly became Princess of Monaco, she was, in my eyes, an elegant actress. I loved her performances in Dial M For Murder and To Catch a Thief. She carried herself with style and grace in all of her performances, with the exception of her role in The Country Girl where they did their best to deglamorize her, but I still found her as elegant as ever even in that film. Her marriage to Prince Rainer III removed her from the acting world and into the role of Princess which she embraced elegantly. I sometimes wonder what roles she would have played into her 30s if she had remained an actress.


 

If you’d like to join in with the JusJoJan, see the rules here

jjj-2016

25 Comments
  1. Totally agree. I thought of both of them immediately. My favorite Audrey Hepburn film is “Charade” I think. I also liked the part she played in “Always.” She was just as beautiful and elegant in her last film as she was in her first ones.

    • Audrey was certainly the most elegant woman alive. Charade was great fun. Her and Cary Grant worked well together. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ Love your comments πŸ™‚

  2. Great response to this prompt! πŸ™‚

  3. Audrey Hepburn; quite simply the most beautiful woman ever born. In every possible way.

    Nice tribute to two of the silver screen’s finest.

    Here’s mine, if you’re interested, a guest post I wrote sometime ago…

    http://www.lifecherries.com/2013/08/the-last-movie-star_11.html?m=0

    • Awesome πŸ™‚ I am glad you enjoyed my brief tributes… off to read yours πŸ™‚

    • Wow, Dale! You tribute to Audrey is outstanding! She truly was the Last Movie Star.. no one compares to her in my book and I doubt any actress ever will. Beautiful, truly beautiful writing. Thank you for sharing this with me πŸ™‚ (posted this on the blog, and adding it here in case you didn’t get to see it there )

      • Thank you Lori, that’s very kind.

        I have three biographies of her, as well some amazing photographs (and the movies too, obviously) and she was a truly extraordinary woman.

      • That is great, Dale.. shows how much you really admired her πŸ™‚ I have almost all of her movies now on DVD. Only missing a few, but I WILL own them eventually too.. ha!

      • Have you got “Paris when it sizzles”? That’s an odd one.

      • No, that is one I was in a bidding war over at Ebay… I lost dang it.. it is hard to find.. I am still looking for an affordable copy

      • I have it in a box-set, it’s great.

      • I’ve seen it on tv before.. it was a great movie… I wanted a single copy of it.. but I may have to settle for a box set too

      • Charade is one of my favourites, a bit dated now but still a good thriller with a great cast.

      • Yeah, but then anything with Cary Grant in it is a biggy for me too.. he was one of my favorite actors ..him and William Holden πŸ˜€

      • Yes, I got that from your post.

      • Just sent you a Fb request, by the way.

      • I accepted πŸ™‚ thanks Dale

      • “Ravyne”?

      • that’s me πŸ™‚ I go by Ravyne almost everywhere online.. Ravyne Hawke is my Cherokee name πŸ™‚

      • Oh, very cool.

      • Pronounced “ravine”?

      • no, Raven.. the e is silent on the end.. as is the e on the end of Hawke πŸ™‚ I just gotta be different, unique.. ha!

      • Raven Hawk? That’s the ’70s native American cop show that was never made if ever I heard it, hahaha

      • Hahahaa! That would be too funny… Ravyne is also a vampire character that I created.. Ravyne Ramirez…

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!β„’

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

