Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 15

January 15, 2016

Polite company

“It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with
people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

I disagree. I think it is far more difficult to discuss religion and politics with people you know well than with mere acquaintances or strangers. Or at least it is for me. With close family and friends, there is always the chance of burning bridges that you wish you hadn’t. With acquaintances and strangers, a burnt bridge may be of little consequence. After all, you may never see those people again.

These are two topics though that I try not to talk about with anyone now. I felt the opposite way in my late 20s. I would throw myself into the lion’s den often just to stir people up. It wasn’t about conversion for me though. I didn’t even care if anyone agreed with me. I just wanted to see the chaos. This occurred often in religious chatrooms on Yahoo, way back in the day. I frequented a chatroom called The Pagan Lake and a group of us would pop into the Religion chatroom just to stir up trouble. Of course, people from the Religion chatroom would come to The Pagan Lake to do the same. So we just saw it as vengeance I suppose. I would even change my ID to DeathBecomesMe and join a few friends for spare-parts baseball in Religion. I would use an arm and my skull as spare-parts and fling myself all over the place. It was great fun, but rather revolting now that I think about it. I even went into political chatrooms and stirred the pot.

I’ve become wiser as I’ve aged. I no longer wish for the chaos as in my youth. Now I wish for peace and happiness. So I am less inclined to discuss religion or politics with anyone. Sometimes not even with like-minded people. I just don’t want to hear any hate or fear that comes from such discussions. Perhaps I live in a bubble now and I am okay with that.

2 Comments

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

