Skip to content

365 Days of Writing Prompts: Day 8

January 8, 2016

Teacher’s pet

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life,
either for the better or the worse. How is your life different
today because of him or her?

This is a bit late today because I am getting old and my memory is well… shot. I had to call a friend who had to call a friend’s mother to find the name of my favorite teacher all the way back in fifth grade. This, my dear readers, is truly a sad thing. I’d already tried to pick my dad and brother’s brains to no avail and my sister is working, so unreachable. I tried a Facebook group, but it is pretty much inactive and there was no reply after several hours. My friend finally got home from a day out shopping and so I called her. Alas, she couldn’t remember, she called a friend who couldn’t remember and the friend said, “call Mom, she was on the School Board.” So finally, after a long search down memory lane, I present to you the teacher who made the most impact on my life: Mrs. Dale, my fifth grade English teacher.

Mrs. Dale was one of those teachers who was enthusiastic about teaching. She was alert and engaging with her students AND she encouraged all of us to write. She had these boxes of cards and inside of them were prompts for different levels of writing. I remember starting at the lower level prompts and being completely bored with them and she finally allowed me to draw from the most advanced box of cards. This is where my love of writing came from and where I learned to enjoy writing via prompts. Without her help and encouragement, I doubt I would have done as well in English and writing all through high school and I doubt I would have gone to college to pursue a Bachelors in English and a Masters in Liberal Arts.

On the flip side of this, I also had one wretched Creative Writing teacher in high school named Mrs. Vaughn (funny how you can never forget the name of someone who utterly destroyed you!) who told me that I would never be a writer because I wrote gothic, suspense, and horror stories, unlike other kids in my class who wrote cute little stories about bunnies. Her negative remark has stayed with me all of my life and even though it is always in the back of my mind, I write and I write and I write. I do not, however, try to publish much of my work, just a few poems here and there. I keep writing because I want to prove her wrong. The woman is dead and I am still trying to prove to the old battleaxe that I am a writer… god, I think I need therapy!

 

2 Comments
  1. Thank you 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Article Read (1-9-2016) | My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

