Skip to content

Oh Goth! How I miss you!

January 3, 2016

via The Daily Post – New Sensation

Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.

This look, was more my style:

polls_emo_goth_2244_688696_poll_xlarge

In the late 80s and early 90s, while most were hung up on punk or sporting the Madonna-look, I was goth. As one naturally pale, this look was easy to pull off. I wore my dark clothing (sometimes black, sometimes crimson) with pride. It began as a Halloween costume in 88 or 89 and became a natural way for me. I loved all the leather and lace, the “witchiness” or “vampyre” that it inspired, and of course, the odd looks from strangers. This was not born out of angst as it would later become known. This was born out of individuality and inspiration, a natural love for dark colors, and a love of the night. Although I only sported this as a fashion for a couple of years (the later goths kinda ruined the whole thing), I never tired of the dark colors or the fanciful clothing or the make-up. Even within the past few years, IΒ  resurrected a bit of the look, though not as completely as I once did. Now, in my late 40s, I know that I am much too old to pull the look off, but Oh Goth! How I miss you!

14 Comments
  1. I love Goth! Big Elivra fan. I write a lot of vampire stories too. You should still dress in goth. A girl told me I will get buried in my Boston Celtics jacket. I bleed green. Bet you had a lot of fun with Goth. I love Goth girls. My sister says I only like girls with dark hair and dark eyes. I don’t think its true but there is some evidence to back that up. I do love Goth girls!

    • Oh I am much too old now to dress in Goth, especially with the make-up and dark hair. I am nearing 50. But I will always have a Gothic soul. Have you ever checked out the Suicide Girls? Love them.. so beautiful and so Goth.

      • Yea true Goth will always be with you! I never heard of Suicide girls. I’ll deff look into them. Have you ever seen a show ‘The Facts Of Life’? Awesome tv show!

      • The SG site is a paid site, but there are some freebie pics you can look at.

        Yeah, I watched it as a kid.. it was a great tv show

  2. What a fabulous, interesting blog! Thank you for following mine. I’m giving you a shout out!

  3. Wearing black is what I’ve mostly worn for years. I love it and am drawn to the darker colors, too. I think you’re never too old to wear what you want. Saw a cute meme that was saying the older you get, the more you shouldn’t care what other people think. So, I’m either wearing black, or the hippie style that I’ve always worn πŸ™‚

    • Oh I still wear my black and crimson… most of my clothes are those colors… I just cannot done the make-up anymore… I do miss that part though. Still the same ole gothic, witchy, hippie me πŸ™‚ Cheers to you for continuing to be uniquely YOU πŸ™‚

      • haha glad to hear the goth you is still around, even if just toned down a bit with the make-up! We are who we are, and we like what we like πŸ™‚

      • So true πŸ™‚ Wouldn’t change me if I had to πŸ˜€

  4. You are joking about being much too old to pull off the look, right!? One is never too old! What did you mean about the later goths ruining the whole thing?

    • well I still have the pale skin, but the wrinkles (which I earned and am proud of) do not simply disappear with make-up these days πŸ™‚ When goth became about angst is what I am speaking of… it wasn’t always about angst and I believe it may not be about it so much today πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comments!

  5. Thank you πŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Some Interesting Post To Read | My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!β„’

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

