Skip to content

A Momentary Pause…

January 2, 2016

big_thumb_af27798b4b8e7a26fdf972b24856f12e

for JusJoJan and SoCS via the lovely Linda G. Hill

Slowing down and taking a moment to pause is essential for me. I tend to get caught up in things and time passes me by before I even realize it has happened. Sometimes pauses come spontaneously, what Pema Chodron and k.d. lang call a “gap” moment, and sometimes I have to set a timer to remind myself to stop, slow down and pause.

My preference is those spontaneous pauses, those “gaps” and my favorites are when I hear ravens cawing outside my window or the laughter of my dad or brother. Those are precious moments which only last a short period of time, but they are enough to take me out of my head and into my heart.

Do you have to take momentary pauses? Do you ever experience spontaneous “gap” moments? Tell me about them in the comments!


 

If you’d like to join in with the JusJoJan, see the rules here

jjj-2016

Each Friday, Linda posts a Stream of Consciousness Saturday (SoCS) reminder and post. Feel free to join in!

socs-badge-2015

 

9 Comments
  1. My favorite gap moment is when I catch the sunset out my window and I just pause and watch the sky turning colors as the sun sets behind the mountain. It is a moment when I feel wonder with the world and I know there is so much more.

  2. I, too, like the idea of gap moments. And, k.d. lang is a favourite of mine.

    • Gap moments are so delightful 🙂 I’ve been a fan of k.d. lang since the 80s… she never ceases to enlighten me 🙂 have a blessed day!

  3. Yes. They are the moments when I realize I am content. 🙂 Great post, Lori.

    • Ah! yes, those moments do make me content as well… Thanks, Linda 🙂 and thank you for stopping by… have a blessed day.

  4. Suzanne permalink

    I like the idea of ‘gap moments’ – they are life’s most precious gift some days. Thanks for introducing me the idea.

    • You are most welcome, Suzanne… it was amusing to me.. I’ve always had these moments, but never knew what they were called, if anything, until I read that post by Pema Chodron and k.d. lang 🙂 enjoy your “gap” moments and have a blessed day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Article Read (1-4-2016) (1-6-2016) | My Daily Musing

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

menfittness

fittness, Men Fittness,

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

