Skip to content

30 Day Blog Challenge — Day Twenty-Seven

April 27, 2015

Something Interesting About Me

I have been baptized three times.

The first time, I was around 12 or 13 and baptized into the Southern Baptist church where my mother attended. When I was 19, I met a Mormon missionary and fell head over hills in love with him. He said we could be married if I would join the Mormon Church, which I did. I was baptized into the Church, studied and went through the temple, got my endowment and waited. Something happened to him half-way through his mission and he quit the mission, went home to California and left the Church. I married soon after that to another man, but that marriage ended badly. I then left the Mormon church and studied Wicca for about 10 years.

Around 2008, I began practicing mindfulness as therapy for anxiety and depression. This led me to Buddhism, which I still practice today, along with Wicca and Taoism.

In 2010, during one of my psych hospital stays, I meet this woman who got me into a program called Celebrate Recovery, which is Christian-based. I started attending meetings with her at a Southern Baptist church and even attended some worship meetings with her on Sundays. Later, I went through their 12 Step Program which helped me realize that my marriage was in serious trouble. After attending that church for a year, I wanted to become a member, but was told that unless I was re-baptized, I couldn’t. So I was dunked once again. I stopped attending that church in 2013 because my husband didn’t want me going there anymore.

Now, I still consider myself a Buddhist, but believe in Christ-Consciousness. When asked what my beliefs are, I generally say that I am a Spiritualist and leave it at that.

Leave a Comment

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

