Skip to content

30 Day Blog Challenge — Day Twenty-Two

April 22, 2015

Hairstyles

I’ve had a few different hairstyles over the years. Sometimes short, sometimes long. I mostly wore my hair short through grade school and high school because I would have these horrible pains in my legs if my hair was long. The doctors said it was taking energy from the rest of my body to grow my hair. Not sure if I believe that, but well, who knows. When I got out of high school, I started letting my hair grow long and for the next four or so years, it remained about shoulder-length.

Some time in my early to mid-twenties, I met this really cool hairstylist and she decided that I would be her test model. She cut and colored my hair in some of the strangest fashions and practically every color under the rainbow. My hair was never green or orange, but all other colors ended up on my head. Once, she cut my hair so short, she had to shave up high on my neck. I felt naked and exposed and was so glad when it grew out again.

I let it grow long after that and kept it that way until I was about 28. I had dated a guy and when we broke up, he said the only reason he had dated me was because of my long hair. Naturally, being the rebellious bitch that I am, I had my hair cut off short to spite him. It remained short for another 4 years. Once again, I let it grow and when it got half way down my back, I had a spiral perm put in it. That was probably my favorite hairstyle ever. My hair remained long until I had cancer in 2012. I lost every hair on my head from the chemo. It has just now gotten shoulder-length again and is very thin. I miss my long thick locks.

6 Comments
  1. I so appreciate and enjoy you honest writings reminds of this quote “β€œAll art is a kind of confession, more or less oblique. All artists, if they are to survive, are forced, at last, to tell the whole story; to vomit the anguish up.” ― James .Baldwin Love & Blessings !

  2. It’s strange, but when I think about cancer, losing my hair seems disproportionately frightening compared to other aspects of the disease.

    I haven’t been nearly as adventurous with my hair. It’s been between shoulder length to maybe 8 inches longer my whole life. I did get spiral perms for nine years straight. Maybe my hair finally got the hint because it still spirals six years after the last perm.

    • I was able to handle all aspects of having cancer, but the loss of hair was the hardest for me. My hair was very long and I had to cut it short before it all fell out because I would awaken in the mornings to lumps of hair on my pillow every morning. I cried more over my loss of hair than the fact that I had cancer. My last spiral was in 2000, it still had some spiral rings in it before I lost it all in 2012… amazing how you can train hair to curl πŸ˜€ thanks for reading me, Tamara!

  3. Yes, you would think a lot about hair if you lost it through having cancer. The fact that it’s grown back hopefully means you’ve “grown back” too. Hope all goes well for you. You made me cry. I assume it was autobiographical but it might be fiction. Either way, a good piece…
    See my words at:
    gramswisewords.blogspot.com

    • Thank you, Maz… the piece was completely autobiographical and yes, I’ve grown quite a lot since the bout with cancer. Thank you so much for reading me… will be stopping by to see you and read you again πŸ™‚

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

