Skip to content

April PAD Challenge — Day Fifteen

April 15, 2015

Joecaroll1James Purefoy as Joe Carroll on The Following

Prompt: Chose an adjective, make it your title and then write a poem

Charismatic
~an ode to Joe Carroll~

That glint in your eyes
and that devious smile
warn me that you
are a dangerous man

so why am I drawn to you?

Sure, it could be the accent
oh so British
or the way you recite poetry
dear ole Edgar Allan Poe
or perhaps the way you see
deep into the fractured glass
of my own troubled soul

I understand you
and your ilk
that deep seeded need
to feel life force cease
the way you hunger for it
the thirst for blood

I too have felt that desire
to slice skin
to feel blood drip
drip
drip to the floor
my heart beating
to the rhythm of the flow
but that has been my selfishness
the yearning to take my own life

You mesmerize me
make me want to do things
with knife in hand
that I wouldn’t do, no
not in a million years
except, I would for you

But the biggest thrill of all:
to feel your knife
stabbed into me
and see the satisfaction
mirrored in your eyes
as my life drains
and I die

Β©April 2015, Lori Carlson

4 Comments
  1. Wow… I’m in love with this. I’m a HUGE fan of The Following. This is simply fantastic.

    • Thank you! I don’t think it is one of my most popular poems though *laughs*

      • I can see that!! It is so intriguing trying to get inside his head (or inside the heads of his victims) to try to figure out his/their thought process. I love psychologically thrilling movies/books/poetry. πŸ™‚

        That and he is downright gorgeous πŸ˜‰

      • I like that you are a woman of intrigue, Christina! And yes… he is so gorgeous!

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

