Skip to content

30 Day Blog Challenge — Day Fourteen

April 14, 2015

Where I Want to Be in Ten Years

I have to admit, I used to play this game. Everyone said we should set goals for ourselves and work to fulfill them. Go to school, get good grades, go to college, get a good career. All based on goals set in childhood, but those were always someone else’s goals: Parents, teachers, guidance counselors, coaches, spiritual leaders… I think very few children grow up to be what they dreamed of at night curled up in their beds, dreaming of their futures. Life has a way of creating road blocks and disturbances.

I am less than two years away from one of my life goals. At eleven, sitting in the sands of Virginia Beach, I swore to the Ocean that when I was fifty, I would return to her and become one with her. Strange, I know, for a child to make such a commitment. But then, I was always a strange child and I thought fifty was so far away and so old. I figured by then I would have reached all of my goals: college, marriage, the life of a writer.

Now, as I quickly approach fifty, I realize that out of all three goals, I’ve only accomplished one… college. Sure, I’ve had two marriages, but both failed. And yes, I am a writer, but not a published one.

I made mistakes early on, not keeping to my time-tabled goals. I got married way too early and divorced, all within two years. I fell madly in love and then lost that love. I spent my early 20s drunk on one night stands. By my mid-twenties, I finally recaptured my dreams and went to college. I spent nine years chasing the writer’s life, but then the money demons stole it. And so, I got married again. Another wasted 13 years.

Through all of those tribulations, I learned one valuable lesson: live in the NOW. This hard-learned lesson has brought me clarity and peace. I no longer chase impossible dreams. I do not long for what could be or mourn over what might have been. I live each day in the moment.

So when asked where I want to be in ten years, I can honestly say: I will be where I will be, in that moment, in that day, living in the NOW.

5 Comments
  1. Mine would be get stable, get a job and have a girlfriend. I think those are reasonable things for ten years.

    • Those are all very reasonable ten-year goals, Dan. I wish you much luck and success on accomplishing all three!

      • Thanks marriage is not one for me that is reasonable. I think I need more time for that, Stable I think will happen ten more years of changing meds I’ll find perfect combo and meds will be better in ten years.

      • I hope so, Dan.. you will be stabled eventually, of this I am sure.. you have to strong a will not to be 🙂

      • Thanks it would be nice worry less about having relapses.

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself!!!

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

