Skip to content

April’s PAD — Day Nine

April 9, 2014

Prompt: write a shelter poem

 

Keeping Shelter

You kept me under your skirt
guarded against the wolves
Nights tucked tightly into bed
latches double locked
but I could still hear their howling
the smashing of glass in the alley
and their clawing at the door

You kept me safe
’til cancer claimed you
I was tossed out of my safe home
and into a home with wolf pups
they tested me daily
sniffing at the door to my room
and yelping at night

I lived in fear until I was eighteen
and then I was tossed out again
fear became terror
I was exposed to the wolves
no where to hide
They followed me day and night
lewdly pawing at my skirts

I didn’t know who to trust
’til he roamed in
He didn’t seem like a wolf
not like daddy or the pups
I let down my guard
pulled up my skirt
and let him have his way with me

Soon I had my own pups
with shewolves to protect
and male pups to train
I didn’t want them to become wolves
but then their father threw me away
took the pups under his arms
and left me and the shewolves in the rain

 

Leave a Comment

What's on your mind? Let me know!

Healing Morning

My everyday approach to spirituality.

KARMA WAVES CONSCIOUS LIVING

CONSCIOUS LIVING THROUGH HIGHER CONSCIOUSNESS

Keto Captain Blog

Your daily dose of healthy information

The Word Faucet

Welcome to my world where words flow freely

The_Unknown_Girl

Less Words,More Feelings...!!!

Project 642

Writing to find the Answer

Silicon Valley Girl

The Life and Times of a Gen-Xer

The Novel I'll Never Write

My attempt to make sense of the world through a random combination of letters & punctuation.

A Whistling Caravan

Write not to impress others,but to express yourself and inspire others!!!™

The Urban Mile

NYC Running & More

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues

Sliver of Darkness

I'm the last words of a slain poet

A Strong Life: People Enhancing People

Will talk about what I'm passionate about: health & wellness, parenting, being an entrepreneur, etc.

Confusium

trying to make sense in a world that no longer makes sense to me

